Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment

   20   Migration Amendment (Prohibiting Items in Immigration Detention Facilities) Bill 2020

The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the bill be now read a second time— And on the amendment moved thereto by Mr Giles (see item No. 12, page 1159)

Debate resumed.

Amendment negatived.

Question—That the bill be now read a second time—put.

The House divided (the Speaker, Mr A. D. H. Smith, in the Chair)—

AYES, 41

Dr Allen

Dr Gillespie

Mr Morrison

Mr Taylor

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Ms Hammond

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Tehan

Mrs Archer

Mr Hawke

Mr Pasin

Mr Tudge

Ms Bell

Mr Hunt

Mr Pitt

Mr van Manen

Mr Coulton

Mr Joyce

Mr Porter

Mr Vasta

Mr Dutton

Mr Leeser

Ms Price

Mr Wallace

Mr Falinski

Ms Ley

Mr Ramsey*

Dr Webster

Mr Fletcher

Mr Littleproud

Mr Robert

Mrs Wicks

Ms Flint*

Mr McCormack

Mr Simmonds

Mr Wyatt

Mr Frydenberg

Mrs McIntosh

Mr Sukkar

Mr Zimmerman

Mr Gee




NOES, 36

Mr Albanese

Mr Clare

Dr Leigh

Ms Rishworth

Dr Aly

Ms Collins

Ms McBain

Ms Sharkie

Mr Bowen

Mrs Elliot

Ms McBride

Mr Snowdon

Mr Burke

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr B. K. Mitchell

Ms Stanley*

Ms Burney

Dr Freelander*

Ms Murphy

Ms Steggall

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Giles

Mr O’Connor

Ms Swanson

Ms T. M. Butler

Dr Haines

Ms Owens

Ms Templeman

Dr Chalmers

Mr Hayes

Mrs Phillips

Mr Watts

Ms L. M. Chesters

Mr Jones

Ms Plibersek

Mr J. H. Wilson

* Tellers


Mr Evans

Ms O’Neil

Mr Young

Mr R. G. Mitchell

Mr Thompson

Ms M. M. H. King

Mr Hogan

Mr Perrett

Mr Ted O’Brien

Ms C. F. King

Mr Hastie

Mr Georganas

Mr Laming

Mr Hill

Mr Drum

Mr Dick

Mr Alexander

Ms Bird

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mr Burns

Mr Irons

Mr Gosling

Mr Connelly

Mr Neumann

Mr Goodenough

Ms Payne

Mr Pearce

Mr Thistlethwaite

Mr Broadbent

Mr Byrne

Mr Wood

Mr Zappia

Mr Conaghan

Dr Mulino

Mr Christensen

Ms Coker

Mr Morton

Mr Shorten

Mr Stevens

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Entsch

Mr Dreyfus

Mr Buchholz

Mr Champion

Mrs Marino

Mr Keogh

Mr Sharma

Ms Thwaites

Mr C. Kelly

Ms Rowland

Mr T. R. Wilson

Ms Wells

Mr Coleman

Mr Conroy

Ms Liu

Ms Kearney

Dr Martin

Ms Ryan

Ms Landry

Mr Husic

Mr R. J. Wilson

Mr Marles

Mr D. J. Chester

Ms Claydon

Dr McVeigh

Mr Khalil

Mr L. S. O’Brien

Mr D. P. B. Smith

Mr Howarth

Mr Gorman

And so it was resolved in the affirmative—bill read a second time.

Consideration in detail

Bill, by leave, taken as a whole.

Debate ensued.

Bill agreed to.

Consideration in detail concluded.

On the motion of Mr Morton (Assistant Minister to the Prime Minister and Cabinet), by leave, the bill was read a third time.