Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the motion of Mr Oakeshott—That this House calls on the Council of Australian Governments to implement a National Partnership Agreement on gambling reform, that agrees to:

(1)    implement a:

(a)    national cap on electronic gaming machines; and

(b)   long term national reduction strategy on electronic gaming machines underneath a national cap;

(2)    refer the issue of revenue loss from a national reduction strategy to the State Tax Working Group, set up by the Tax Forum, so that any losses incurred are spread across State and Commonwealth revenues; and

(3)    include online gaming reform, sports betting reform and horse, harness and greyhound race coverage reform to address links between problem gambling and national health outcomes, as well as any links to the proceeds of crime, money laundering and community safety—

Question—That the motion be agreed to—put.


The House divided (the Speaker, Ms A. E. Burke, in the Chair)—

AYES, 60

Mr Albanese

Mrs Elliot

Ms Livermore

Ms Rowland

Mr Bandt

Ms Ellis

Mr Lyons

Ms Roxon

Ms Bird

Dr Emerson

Mr McClelland

Mr Rudd

Mr Bowen

Mr M. J. Ferguson

Mr Marles

Ms Saffin*

Ms Brodtmann

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr Mitchell

Mr Sidebottom

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Georganas

Mr Murphy

Mr S. F. Smith

Mr Butler

Mr Gibbons

Mr Neumann

Ms Smyth

Mr Byrne

Ms Grierson

Mr Oakeshott

Mr Swan

Mr Champion

Mr Griffin

Mr O’Connor

Mr Symon

Mr Cheeseman

Mr Hayes

Ms Owens

Mr C. R. Thomson

Mr Clare

Mr Husic*

Ms Parke

Mr K. J. Thomson

Mr Combet

Mr Jenkins

Mr Perrett

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Crean

Mr S. P. Jones

Ms Plibersek

Mr Wilkie

Mrs D’Ath

Dr M. J. Kelly

Mr Ripoll

Mr Windsor

Mr Dreyfus

Dr Leigh

Ms Rishworth

Mr Zappia

NOES, 58

Mr Alexander

Mr Forrest

Mr McCormack

Mr Scott

Mr K. J. Andrews

Ms Gambaro

Mr Macfarlane

Mr Secker*

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Mrs Gash

Ms Marino

Mr Simpkins

Mr Baldwin

Mrs Griggs

Mr Matheson

Mr A. D. H. Smith

Mr Billson

Mr Hartsuyker

Mrs Mirabella

Mr Somlyay

Mrs B. K. Bishop

Mr A. G. Hawke

Mr Morrison

Dr Southcott

Ms J. I. Bishop

Mr Hockey

Mrs Moylan

Dr Stone

Mr Briggs

Mr Hunt

Mr Neville

Mr Tehan

Mr Broadbent

Dr Jensen

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Truss

Mr Buchholz

Mr E. T. Jones

Mrs Prentice

Mr Tudge

Mr Chester

Mr Katter

Mr Pyne

Mr Turnbull

Mr Christensen

Mr Keenan

Mr Ramsey

Dr Washer

Mr Cobb

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Robert

Mr Wyatt

Mr Coulton*

Mr Laming

Mr Ruddock


Mr Fletcher

Ms Ley

Mr Schultz


* Tellers


Ms Gillard                      Mr Abbott

Mr L. D. T. Ferguson     Mr Haase

Mr Shorten                     Mr van Manen

Mr Gray                         Mr Robb

Ms O’Neill                     Mr Ciobo

Mr Garrett                      Mr Frydenberg

Ms Macklin                    Mrs Markus

Mr Snowdon                  Ms O’Dwyer

Mr Bradbury                  Mr Dutton

Mr Danby                       Mr Vasta

Mr Adams                      Mr Entsch

Ms Collins                      Mr Wyatt Roy

Mr Melham                    Mr Irons

Ms King                         Mr Randall

Ms Hall                          Mr Crook

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.