Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the motion of Mr Abbott—That this House:

(1)    notes that:

(a)    since the devastating terrorist attacks in the United States on 11 September 2001, over 100 Australians have died and many others have suffered injury as a result of terrorist attacks overseas;

(b)   the victims of ‘September 11’, the two Bali bombings, the London and Jakarta bombings and the Mumbai terrorist attacks, were targeted because they were citizens of countries where people could choose how they lived and what faith they might follow; and

(c)    12 October 2012 will mark the tenth anniversary of the 2002 Bali bombings;

(2)    recognises that:

(a)    many Australian families continue to suffer as a result of their loss and injury from overseas terrorist acts;

(b)   victims of overseas terrorism have not been entitled to compensation such as that received by domestic victims of crime under the various State and Territory victims of crime schemes; and

(c)    the Government did not support amendments to the Social Security Amendment (Supporting Australian Victims of Terrorism Overseas) Bill 2012 which would have provided assistance for any action after 10 September 2001; and

(3)    supports the Coalition’s request that the Minister make the appropriate retrospective declarations so that all of the Australian victims of overseas terrorism acts since 10 September 2001, or their next of kin, can receive this important, but modest, help—

Question—That the motion be agreed to—put.


The House divided (the Speaker, Ms A. E. Burke, in the Chair)—

AYES, 55

Mr Alexander

Ms Gambaro

Mr Macfarlane

Mr Scott

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mrs Gash

Ms Marino

Mr Secker*

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Mrs Griggs

Mr Matheson

Mr Simpkins

Mr Baldwin

Mr Hartsuyker

Mrs Mirabella

Mr A. D. H. Smith

Mr Billson

Mr Hockey

Mr Morrison

Mr Somlyay

Mrs B. K. Bishop

Mr Hunt

Mrs Moylan

Dr Southcott

Ms J. I. Bishop

Dr Jensen

Mr Neville

Dr Stone

Mr Briggs

Mr E. T. Jones

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Tehan

Mr Broadbent

Mr Katter

Mrs Prentice

Mr Tudge

Mr Buchholz

Mr Keenan

Mr Pyne

Mr Turnbull

Mr Chester

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Ramsey

Dr Washer

Mr Christensen

Mr Laming

Mr Robert

Mr Wilkie

Mr Coulton*

Ms Ley

Mr Ruddock

Mr Wyatt

Mr Fletcher

Mr McCormack

Mr Schultz


NOES, 59

Mr Albanese

Mrs Elliot

Ms Livermore

Ms Rowland

Mr Bandt

Ms Ellis

Mr Lyons

Ms Roxon

Ms Bird

Dr Emerson

Mr McClelland

Mr Rudd

Mr Bowen

Mr M. J. Ferguson

Mr Marles

Ms Saffin*

Ms Brodtmann

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr Mitchell

Mr Sidebottom

Mr A. S. Burke

Mr Georganas

Mr Murphy

Mr S. F. Smith

Mr Butler

Mr Gibbons

Mr Neumann

Ms Smyth

Mr Byrne

Ms Grierson

Mr Oakeshott

Mr Swan

Mr Champion

Mr Griffin

Mr O’Connor

Mr Symon

Mr Cheeseman

Mr Hayes

Ms Owens

Mr C. R. Thomson

Mr Clare

Mr Husic*

Ms Parke

Mr K. J. Thomson

Mr Combet

Mr Jenkins

Mr Perrett

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Crean

Mr S. P. Jones

Ms Plibersek

Mr Windsor

Mrs D’Ath

Dr M. J. Kelly

Mr Ripoll

Mr Zappia

Mr Dreyfus

Dr Leigh

Ms Rishworth


* Tellers


Ms Gillard                      Mr Abbott

Mr L. D. T. Ferguson     Mr Haase

Mr Shorten                     Mr van Manen

Mr Gray                         Mr Robb

Ms O’Neill                     Mr Ciobo

Mr Garrett                      Mr Frydenberg

Ms Macklin                    Mrs Markus

Mr Snowdon                  Ms O’Dwyer

Mr Bradbury                  Mr Dutton

Mr Danby                       Mr Vasta

Mr Adams                      Mr Entsch

Ms Collins                      Mr Wyatt Roy

Mr Melham                    Mr Irons

Ms King                         Mr Randall

Ms Hall                          Mr Crook

And so it was negatived.