Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document

   16 Trade Support Loans Amendment (Improving Administration) Bill 2019

The order of the day having been read for the resumption of the debate on the question—That the bill be now read a second time—

Debate resumed by Ms Kearney who moved, as an amendment—That all words after “That” be omitted with a view to substituting the following words:

“whilst not declining to give the bill a second reading, the House notes that the Government has failed students, workers, business and the economy by:

(1)    presiding over a national shortage in skilled tradespeople, noting that the number of Australians doing an apprenticeship or traineeship is lower today than it was a decade ago;

(2)    failing to tackle falling completion rates, as there are more people dropping out of apprenticeships and traineeships than finishing them; and

(3)    cutting TAFE and training by over $3 billion and short-changing vocational education by nearly $1 billion”.

Debate ensued.


Mr Hawke (Minister for International Development and the Pacific) presented an addendum to the explanatory memorandum to the bill.

Question—That the amendment be agreed to—put.

The House divided (the Speaker, Mr A. D. H. Smith, in the Chair)—


AYES, 68

Mr Albanese

Mr Conroy

Ms C. F. King

Ms Rishworth

Dr Aly

Mr Dick

Ms M. M. H. King

Ms Rowland

Mr Bandt

Mr Dreyfus

Dr Leigh

Ms Ryan*

Ms Bird

Mrs Elliot

Ms McBride

Mr Shorten

Mr Bowen

Mr Fitzgibbon

Mr Marles

Mr D. P. B. Smith

Mr Burke

Dr Freelander

Mr B. K. Mitchell

Mr Snowdon

Ms Burney

Mr Georganas

Mr R. G. Mitchell

Ms Stanley*

Mr Burns

Mr Giles

Dr Mulino

Ms Swanson

Mr M. C. Butler

Mr Gorman

Ms Murphy

Ms Templeman

Ms T. M. Butler

Mr Gosling

Mr Neumann

Mr Thistlethwaite

Mr Byrne

Mr Hill

Mr O’Connor

Ms Thwaites

Dr Chalmers

Mr Husic

Ms O’Neil

Ms Vamvakinou

Mr Champion

Mr Jones

Ms Owens

Mr Watts

Mr Clare

Ms Kearney

Ms Payne

Ms Wells

Ms Claydon

Dr M. J. Kelly

Mr Perrett

Mr Wilkie

Ms Coker

Mr Keogh

Mrs Phillips

Mr J. H. Wilson

Ms Collins

Mr Khalil

Ms Plibersek

Mr Zappia

NOES, 76

Mr Alexander

Mr Frydenberg

Ms Liu

Mr Sharma

Dr Allen

Mr Gee

Mr McCormack

Mr Simmonds

Mrs K. L. Andrews

Dr Gillespie

Mrs McIntosh

Ms Steggall

Mr K. J. Andrews

Mr Goodenough

Dr McVeigh

Mr Stevens

Mrs Archer

Dr Haines

Mrs Marino

Mr Sukkar

Ms Bell

Ms Hammond

Dr Martin

Mr Taylor

Mr Broadbent

Mr Hastie

Mr Morrison

Mr Tehan

Mr Buchholz

Mr Hawke

Mr Morton

Mr Thompson

Mr D. J. Chester

Mr Hogan

Mr Ted O’Brien

Mr Tudge

Mr Christensen

Mr Howarth

Mr L. S. O’Brien

Mr van Manen

Mr Conaghan

Mr Hunt

Mr O’Dowd

Mr Vasta

Mr Connelly

Mr Irons

Mr Pasin

Mr Wallace

Mr Coulton

Mr Joyce

Mr Pearce

Dr Webster

Mr Drum*

Mr C. Kelly

Mr Pitt

Mrs Wicks

Mr Dutton

Mr Laming

Mr Porter

Mr T. R. Wilson

Mr Entsch

Ms Landry

Ms Price

Mr Wood

Mr Evans

Mr Leeser

Mr Ramsey*

Mr Wyatt

Mr Fletcher

Ms Ley

Mr Robert

Mr Young

Ms Flint

Mr Littleproud

Ms Sharkie

Mr Zimmerman

* Tellers

And so it was negatived.

Question—That the bill be now read a second time—put and passed—bill read a second time.

Message from the Governor-General

Message No. 68, 22 November 2019, from His Excellency the Governor-General was announced recommending an appropriation for the purposes of the bill.

On the motion of Mr Hawke , by leave, the bill was read a third time.