Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment

3       Resignation of President—Vacancy in the representation of Tasmania—Orders of Court of Disputed Returns—Election of senators

His Excellency tabled the following documents:

Resignation of President of the Senate—Vacancy in the representation of Tasmania—Copies of letters, dated 2 November 2017, from—

Senator Parry to the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia (His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove, AK, MC (Retd))—

Resigning from the office of President of the Senate.

Resigning as senator for the state of Tasmania.

Governor-General to Mr Stephen Parry.

Governor-General to the Governor of Tasmania (Her Excellency Professor the Honourable Kate Warner, AC).

Vacancies in the representation of Queensland and Western Australia—Letter from the Principal Registrar, High Court of Australia (Mr Phelan) to the Clerk of the Senate (Mr Pye), dated 10 November 2017, and copies of court orders declaring Andrew Bartlett and Fraser Anning duly elected as senators for the state of Queensland, and Jordon Steele-John duly elected as a senator for the state of Western Australia.

Senators sworn : Senators Anning, Bartlett and Steele-John, pursuant to the Constitution of the Commonwealth of Australia, made and subscribed the oath or affirmation of allegiance at the table.

His Excellency then retired.