Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document


The President informed the Senate that he had received a letter from Senator Archer advising that this day he intended to move-""That in the opinion of the Senate the following is a matter of urgency:

The need to uphold the Memorandum of Understanding between the Commonwealth and Tasmanian Governments on forestry operations in Tasmania which is being overridden by the Prime Minister who is ignoring the bipartisan opposition to his cynical political grandstanding from both the Tasmanian Premier Robin Gray and the Leader of the Opposition and former ALP President, Neil Batt.''.

And at least 4 Senators having risen in support of the motion-

Senator Archer thereupon moved the motion.

Debate ensued.


The Senate divided

AYES, 28

Senators- Alston Archer Baume, Michael Baume, Peter Bjelke-Petersen Boswell Brownhill Carrick, Sir John Collard Crichton-Browne Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Jessop Kilgariff Knowles Lewis MacGibbon Newman Parer Reid Sheil (Teller) Short Teague Townley Vanstone Walters Watson Withers

NOES, 35

Senators- Aulich Black Childs Coates Coleman Colston Cook Cooney Crowley Devlin Elstob Evans Foreman Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines McClelland McIntosh (Teller) McKiernan Macklin Maguire Mason Powell Ray Reynolds Robertson Ryan Sanders Sibraa Siddons Tate Vigor Walsh Zakharov

And so it was negatived.

Pursuant to Sessional Order, consideration of Government Papers was called on.