Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the motion (moved by Senator Harradine, pursuant to Standing Order 196A)-That the Bill be referred to the Standing Committee on Constitutional and Legal Affairs for inquiry and report, and that the Committee particularly report on- (a) inadequacies and ambiguities identified in the Seventeenth Report of the Standing Committee for the Scrutiny of Bills;

(b) the desirability or otherwise of a limitation being placed on the standing and class of persons who may bring proceedings;

(c) the nature of the offence and likely penalty arising from a breach of the order of the Court; and

(d) whether it would be appropriate for the Commonwealth to invoke the foreign affairs power of section 51 (xxix) of the Constitution to legislate in the manner proposed by the Bill.

Debate resumed.


The Senate divided-

AYES, 25

Senators- Archer Bjelke-Petersen Bonner Carrick, Sir John Chaney Crichton-Browne Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Harradine Hill Jessop Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Martyr Messner Reid Scott Thomas Townley Walters Watson Withers Young Teller: Senator Kilgariff

NOES, 28

Senators- Bolkus Button Childs Chipp Coates Coleman Colston Elstob Evans Foreman Georges Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines McClelland McIntosh McLaren Macklin Mason Missen Mulvihill Primmer Ray, Robert Ryan Siddons Walsh Teller: Senator Robertson

And so it was negatived.

The Senate, according to Order, resolved itself into Committee for consideration of the Bill.

In the Committee

Clause 1 read-

Senator Lewis moved-That clause 1 be postponed.

Debate ensued.

Ordered-That the Chairman of Committees (Senator McClelland) report progress and ask leave to sit again.

The President resumed the Chair; and Senator McClelland reported that the Committee had considered the Bill and had made progress, and asked leave to sit again.

Ordered-That the Committee have leave to sit again at a later hour of the day.