Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


Order of the Day read for the adjourned debate on the Question-That this Bill be now read a second time.

Debate resumed.


The Senate divided-

AYES, 30

Senators- Bolkus Button Childs Chipp Coates Coleman Colston Elstob Evans Foreman Gietzelt Giles Grimes Haines Jones Keeffe McClelland McIntosh McLaren Macklin Mason Missen Mulvihill Primmer Rae, Peter Ray, Robert Siddons Tate Walsh Teller: Senator Sibraa

NOES, 26

Senators- Archer Baume Bjelke-Petersen Carrick, Sir John Chaney Crichton-Browne Guilfoyle, Dame Margaret Hamer Harradine Hill Jessop Kilgariff Lajovic Lewis MacGibbon Martin Martyr Messner Reid Scott Townley Walters Watson Withers Young Teller: Senator Collard

And so it was resolved in the affirmative.

Bill read a second time.

Senator Harradine, pursuant to Standing Order 196A, moved-That the World Heritage Properties Protection Bill 1982 be referred to the Standing Committee on Constitutional and Legal Affairs for inquiry and report, and that the Committee particularly report on: (a) inadequacies and ambiguities identified in the Seventeenth Report of the Standing Committee for the Scrutiny of Bills;

(b) the desirability or otherwise of a limitation being placed on the standing and class of persons who may bring proceedings;

(c) the nature of the offence and likely penalty arising from a breach of the order of the Court; and

(d) whether is would be appropriate for the Commonwealth to invoke the foreign affairs power of section 51 (xxix) of the Constitution to legislate in the manner proposed by the Bill.

Papers: Senator Harradine, by leave, laid upon the Table the following Papers: Treaties-Extracts from Australian Treaty Series- Cumulative Supplement (No. 4), as at 31 December 1981.

Treaty Series 1971 No. 1.

Treaty Series 1982 No. 1.

Debate ensued.

Senator Lewis addressing the Chair-

And it being seven p.m.-