Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Monday, 7 July 2014
Page: 4153

Senators Sworn

His Excellency General the Hon. Sir Peter Cosgrove AK, MC (Retd), Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia, entered the chamber and, taking his seat on the dais, said:

Honourable senators:

I am present to administer to senators elected to serve in the Senate from 1 July 2014, and appointed to vacancies thereafter, the oath or affirmation of allegiance, as required by section 42 of the Constitution.

The Clerk : I lay on the table the certificates of election of senators elected to serve in the Senate from 1 July 2014:

New South Wales—Marise Payne, Bob Carr, John Williams, Doug Cameron, David Leyonhjelm, Arthur Sinodinos

Queensland—Ian Macdonald, Chris Ketter, James McGrath, Claire Moore, Glenn Patrick Lazarus, Matthew Canavan

South Australia—Cory Bernardi, Nick Xenophon, Penny Wong, Sarah Hanson-Young, Bob Day, Simon Birmingham

Tasmania—Richard Colbeck, Carol Brown, David Bushby, Catryna Bilyk, Peter Whish-Wilson, Jacqui Lambie

Victoria—Mitchell Peter Fifield, Gavin Mark Marshall, Scott Michael Ryan, Jacinta Mary Ann Collins, Janet Elizabeth Rice, Ricky Lee Muir

Western Australia—David Johnston, Joseph Warrington Bullock, Scott Ludlam, Michaelia Clare Cash, Zhenya Wang, Linda Karen Reynolds

The Clerk: I remind the Senate that on 24 October 2013, the President received a letter from Senator Bob Carr resigning his place as a senator for the state of New South Wales for his term commencing on 1 July 2014. Pursuant to the provisions of section 21 of the Constitution, the President notified the Governor of New South Wales of the vacancy in the representation of that state. I, therefore, table the certificate of choice by the Parliament of New South Wales of Deborah O'Neill to fill the vacancy and associated correspondence. I inform the Senate that Senator Bilyk is unavoidably absent due to personal reasons today.

The abovenamed senators (with the exception of Senator Bilyk) made and subscribed the oath or affirmation of allegiance.

His Excellency the Governor-General having congratulated senators and retired—