Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Thursday, 9 February 2017
Page: 588

Ms HENDERSON (Corangamite) (10:47): The Corangamite Medal is an annual award I have initiated which recognises one exceptional student in each participating primary and secondary school in my wonderful electorate. The metal celebrates the achievements of young people and encourages the leaders of tomorrow—and we all know how important that is. I have been delighted with how well the Corangamite medal has been received across a diverse range of schools. This year some 41 schools participated in the program. It was fantastic to visit so many schools to present the metal and to pay tribute to young people across my electorate who have made such an extraordinary contribution to their school community, and to the broader community in so many cases.

I will go through the winners, because I think it is very important that I acknowledge each of them in the national parliament and celebrate their achievements. They are from Trinity College in Colac, Laura De Lorenzo; St Ignatius College, Sophie Crothers; Aireys Inlet primary school, Mina Barley; Ceres Primary School, Cooper Field; Sacred Heart College, my old school, very proudly, Sophie Dowling; Colac West Primary School, Tianna Beckett; Lethbridge Primary School, Brooke Devlin. From Woady Yaloak, which has four campuses, the winners were, at Ross Creek, Larissa Brownbill; at Snake Valley, Jazz Humphrey-Brown; at Scarsdale, Ella Ross; and at Smythesdale, Lilly Hall; from Linton primary, Graice Ronan; Meredith primary, Trent Miller; St Aloysius Catholic Primary School, Claire Martin; Deans Marsh primary, Chloe Hall; Lorne P-12 college, Carl Pulido; Belmont High School, Abbey Lanyon; Surfside Primary School, Brendan Mohr; Mount Duneed Regional Primary School, Tyler Pekin; Oberon primary, Indy Dunn; Colac Primary School, Charlotte Hardy; Oberon High School, Teagan Madden; Colac Secondary College, Nicholas Lenehan-Anderson; Forrest Primary School, Maddy Seebeck; Inverleigh primary, Angus McDonald; Mandama Primary School, Ngara McEwen; Matthew Flinders Girls Secondary College, Laura Bath; Bellarine Secondary College, Amy Thomas; Clairvaux Catholic School, Harry O'Neill; Highton primary, Will Jones; Surf Coast Secondary College, Emma Vescio; Grovedale College, Jessica Loone; Our Lady Star of the Sea Catholic Primary School, Tia Fitzgerald; Ocean Grove primary, Zoe Evans; Torquay P-6 College, Mackenzie Colledge; Barwon Heads primary, Nellie Naulty; Shelford primary, Henry Bennett; Rokewood primary, Lily Terry—almost there, Madam Deputy Speaker Vamvakinou; it is a wonderful, long list—Teesdale Primary, Vincent Weatherly; Grovedale West, Caitlin Dawber; Alvie, Charlotte Little; Beeac, Zac Barwise; Birregurra, Paul Doak; and Point Lonsdale Primary School, Angelica Daniels. Thank you very much.