Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 13 November 2013
Page: 141

Mr BUCHHOLZ (WrightGovernment Whip) (13:53): Mr Deputy Speaker, I acknowledge your elevation to high office. I know that you will conduct your activities in the chair with the dignity that it deserves. In my electorate, we have four young people to congratulate and acknowledge. They are outstanding young local people who have received the prestigious Australian Student Prize for their exceptional academic achievements during the course of 2013. The Australian Student Prize is only given to 500 students across Australia, representing less than 0.5 per cent of the total year 12 students in Australia, making winners of this award truly remarkable young achievers.

I am honoured to be able to acknowledge the achievements of four gifted young people from the electorate of Wright who have dedicated themselves to their academic work and are now reaping the rewards. They are Monica Smits from Tallai, Rui Hoshino also from Tallai, Taz Jacobs from Jimboomba and Bethany Rognoni from the Upper Lockyer Valley. They deserve congratulations for this prestigious accolade and I wish them all the best into the future. Their academic excellence, work ethic and commitment will serve them and the community well.