Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Thursday, 25 July 2019
Page: 1091

Mr GOSLING (Solomon) (10:18): I just want to acknowledge those Territorians who recently became members of the Order of Australia. The first cab off the rank is Clare Martin AO, former Labor Chief Minister of the Northern Territory, for distinguished service to the people and the Legislative Assembly of the Northern Territory, and as a community advocate; our current administrator of the Northern Territory, Vicki O'Halloran AO; Lilliane Gomatos AM, who founded our world-famous GleNTi Festival, for significant service to the Greek community of the Northern Territory; Doug Phillips AM, for significant service to the business community in the Northern Territory; Ann Brown OAM, for service to the community of Palmerston, whom I was able to personally congratulate at the Palmerston markets recently; Suzan Cox OAM, for services to the law as NT Legal Aid director; and my good friend Benny Lew Fatt OAM, for services to Australian rules football and the Darwin community. There is Anita Newman OAM, for services to youth and the community of Darwin; Penny Stewart OAM, the director of intensive care at Alice Springs Hospital, for services to rural medicine; Alan Wright OAM, for services to the minerals and mining sector; Arthur Mitcherson OAM, for meritorious performance in his duties in the field of marine engineering; Ron Green ESM, for improving conditions for the Northern Territory SES Volunteers Association—he was behind setting that up; Lieutenant Commander Laurence Choate CSM, recognised for improving outcomes in the Royal Australian Navy; Anthony Sues CSM, for meritorious achievement in fuel installation at RAAF Base Darwin; Wayne Stubbs AFSM, for his service in Katherine and its surrounds; Jeff Whittaker AFSM, for his work around the Darwin fire community; and Keith Currie APM, for his services around the Katherine community, in particular serving with the northern crime scene examination unit and working for a long time doing excellent work out of the Katherine Police Station.

Finally, I want to acknowledge a Territorian who wasn't acknowledged in the NT list because he's currently not serving in the NT: Squadron Leader David Burns, who received a Conspicuous Service Medal on top of his Medal of the Order of Australia. Well done, David.