Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 9 October 2012
Page: 11667

Mr WINDSOR (New England) (21:50): Madam Speaker, I congratulate you on your election as Speaker and I second the motion nominating the member for Maranoa as Deputy Speaker. It is a great pleasure to join with the member for Sturt in this motion. There was an occasion only two years ago when we were very close to one another, and I am delighted to be able to support you in nominating the member for Maranoa.

The member for Maranoa has had an outstanding career in this parliament. He knows the job extraordinarily well in terms of the deputy speakership, and I am sure he will be of great assistance to you, Madam Speaker. It is a great privilege and a pleasure to second the motion to elect the member for Maranoa to this position.

The SPEAKER: The time for proposals has expired. In accordance with the standing orders, the bells will be rung and a ballot will be taken. Ballot papers will now be distributed. I remind honourable members that this ballot is for the election of Deputy Speaker. Only one name should be written on the ballot paper. The candidate who has the greater number of votes shall be the Deputy Speaker. The candidates are the member for Maranoa and the member for Hindmarsh. Will honourable members please write on the ballot paper the name of the candidate for whom they wish to vote. The individual's name can be written on the ballot paper—Bruce Scott or Steve Georganas.

Mr Pyne: Madam Speaker, you said members should be in their usual seats. The Leader of the House is in the crossbenches and seems to be filling out another ballot paper.

The SPEAKER: Could the Leader of the House please resume his seat during the ballot.

The bells having been rung and a ballot having been taken

The SPEAKER: Order! The result of the ballot is: Mr Scott, 74 votes; Mr Georganas, 70 votes. Mr Scott, the member for Maranoa, is elected Deputy Speaker. Congratulations!