Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Monday, 19 October 2015
Page: 11710

Ms BRODTMANN (Canberra) (16:23): I rise to congratulate the17 Canberrans who have been named as finalists in the 2016 ACT Australian of the Year awards. These awards highlight the breadth of talent we have in Canberra, with the finalists having backgrounds in science, animal welfare, social entrepreneurship, medical research, charity work, human rights, music and sustainable agriculture advocacy. I congratulate these 2016 ACT Australian of the Year finalists: Dr Alison Taylor and Dr Michael Archinal; David Morrison AO, who many in this chamber would know; Dr Brendan Nelson, who many would also know; and Dr Helen Watchirs OAM. The 2016 ACT Senior Australian of the Year finalists are Yvonne Gusehieri, Major General the Hon. Michael Jeffery AC AO (Mil) CVO MC, Professor Chris Parish and Professor Greg Tegart AM FTSE. The finalists for ACT Young Australian of the Year are Dr Kate Eisenberg, Sophie Hope, Leonard Weiss and Nipuni Wijewickrema. I saw Nip yesterday at the Step Up! for Down syndrome walk. In the ACT Local Hero award we have Peter Cursley, Fiona Kirk, David Richards and Yanping Zhang.

Congratulations to all these extraordinary Canberrans. We are lucky to have you. Thank you for your contribution to our community. I am looking forward to cheering you on early next year out the front of Parliament House at the annual awards.