Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Monday, 13 February 2012
Page: 839

Mr BUCHHOLZ (Wright) (13:54): I rise to speak about the winners of the recent 2012 Australia Day awards in my electorate. My electorate is made up of different areas somewhat geographically separated from each other, so I have two lists of well-deserving recipients. The first list is of Australia Day awards announced by the Scenic Rim Regional Council, which is in the middle of the electorate. The Community Event of the Year was won by the Boonah Bookfest. The Young Citizen of the Year was Latonya Wiggington, while the Citizen of the Year was Robert Churcher. The Mayor's Award went to Brian Davison, the Senior Cultural Award to Chris Grimmett, the Junior Cultural Award to Megan Scougall, the Senior Sports Award to James Geiger and the Junior Sports Award to Iziah Tittor. The Senior Citizen of the Year was Michael Bassett—and if I get time I will come back and share with the group what Michael Bassett got up to.

Over in the Lockyer Valley, the Citizen of the Year was Monnie Raymont and the Young Citizen of the Year was April O'Brien. The Community Event of the Year was the Forest Hill Fun Day while the Australia Day Achievement Award went to Joan Quinn. The Senior Sports Award winner was Brendan Pingel, the Junior Sports Award went to Andrew Luck and the Sports Administrator Award went to Kevin and Kathy Lyons.

My congratulations go to the deserving winners of such awards across every electorate in Australia. I also congratulate all of those Australians who, on a daily basis, commit random acts of kindness that do not receive accolades or recognition. (Time expired)