Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard   

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 23 August 1983
Page: 101

Question No. 207

Mr Reeves asked the Minister for Trade, upon notice, on 24 May 1983:

What are the total amounts of all expenditures and/or capital works programs undertaken by the Minister's Department in or related to the Northern Territory for each year from 1978-79 to 1982-83 which were not covered by general or specific grants to the Northern Territory.

Mr Lionel Bowen —The answer to the honourable member's question is as follows:

This Department has no capital works programs in the Northern Territory. Other expenditures are as follows:

1978-79 1979-80 1980-81 1981-82 1982-83

$ $ $ $ $ Regional Office Darwin (Salaries and Administration) . . 13,174 45, 641 41,454 49,712 Reimbursement to N.T. for regulatory services (other than environment) for uranium mining 15,330 205,064 317,775 . . . . Payments in lieu of Uranium Royalties (see note) . . . . . . 1,174,641 . .

Total 15,330 218,238 363,416 1,216,095 49,712

The Export Development Grants Board makes payments under the Export Market Development Grants Act 1974 and the Export Expansion Grants Act 1978.

The former Act provides incentive to encourage firms to incur promotional expenditure overseas to develop markets for Australian exports and to incur expenditure in encouraging overseas tourists to Australia.

The latter Act provides for the payment of taxable cash grants to eligible Australian exporters. This scheme is designed to encourage Australian firms to increase their export sales and actively pursue export opportunities.

Determinations and payments under these Acts are made and recorded on the basis of the claimant's principal office. Payments therefore may or may not refer to activities undertaken in the Northern Territory by the claimant. The annual reports of the Export Development Grants Board show, in relation to each Grant year, determinations of claimants who are registered as having their principal office in the Northern Territory.

NOTE: The Commonwealth's ownership of uranium throughout the Northern Territory was declared in Section 35 of the Atomic Energy Act 1953 and reaffirmed in the Northern Territory (Self-Government) Act 1978. The Commonwealth has agreed to pay the Northern Territory Government an amount in lieu of uranium royalties.