Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard   

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Tuesday, 23 August 1983
Page: 91

Question No. 133

Mr Jacobi asked the Minister representing the Minister for Resources and Energy , upon notice, on 12 May 1983:

Does the eastern boundary of the State of South Australia, in the context of clause 70, clause 72 (1) and clause 107 (b)(ii) of the new River Murray Waters Agreement, refer to the boundary between Victoria and South Australia or the boundary between New South Wales and South Australia, which is 11 km. further upstream along the River Murray.

Mr Barry Jones —The Minister for Resources and Energy has provided the following answer to the honourable member's question:

The River Murray Commission has advised that, in giving effect to the provisions of the River Murray Waters Agreement in the context of the honourable member's question, it regards the eastern boundary of South Australia as being the boundary between New South Wales and South Australia. The question is one which directly concerns the three States rather than the Commonwealth. I am informed that the States do not dispute the Commission's interpretation.