Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download Current HansardDownload Current Hansard    View Or Save XMLView/Save XML

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment
Wednesday, 28 February 2018
Page: 2257

Mr GEE (Calare) (13:43): Country shows are the one day of the year when town and country come together as one to showcase what's best about living in regional and rural Australia. Recently the community of Oberon came together for the 118th Oberon show and it was another outstanding success. There is a tremendous amount of work that goes into a country show, and today I would like to thank and acknowledge the members of the Oberon Show Society for their wonderful community work. They include President Nick Wills, Vice-President Yvette Wills, Secretary Anna Shaw and Treasurer Glen Stewart. I also acknowledge committee members John Brotchie; Amy Curran; Marj Whalan, who is also the president of the show society ladies auxiliary; Lynne Butterfield, who is also the vice-president of the auxiliary; Barry Webb; Darrell O'Connor; and Hugh Webb, who was presented with a life membership of the Oberon Show Society for his hard work and dedication to the organisation with over 39 years of service. Well done, Hugh. I also acknowledge hardworking committee members Scott Austen, Peter Armstrong, Aaron Booth and Mark Shaw. I would like to further acknowledge the show society ladies auxiliary members. They include secretary and treasurer Gail Conley and publicity offer Katrina Whalan. I would also like to thank Wayne Barker, who did an excellent job in opening the show. I conclude by paying tribute to the community of Oberon and its surrounding districts. It is their support, generosity and community spirit that have sustained the Oberon show for 118 years and made it the remarkable success that it is. Its future is assured. Congratulations, Oberon; you just can't beat a country show!