Title Federation Chamber
Wodonga TAFE
Database House Hansard
Date 23-11-2015
Source House of Reps
Parl No. 44
Electorate Indi
Main Committee/Federation Chamber
Page 13395
Party Ind.
Status Final
Speaker McGowan, Cathy, MP
Stage Wodonga TAFE
System Id chamber/hansardr/4542f24a-411d-41aa-874c-00a76d8af37f/0281

Federation Chamber - CONSTITUENCY STATEMENTS - Wodonga TAFE

Ms McGOWAN (Indi) (15:59): On Tuesday, 17 November, I had the absolute pleasure of attending the Wodonga College of TAFE awards night with over 150 people, including the Minister for Training and Skills from Victoria, Steve Herbert; the state member for Benambra, Bill Tilley; council members; and Professor John Dewar, the head of La Trobe University. It was the first time a Victorian minister has been at a TAFE awards night, and earlier in the day Minister Herbert had announced $3.7 million for Wodonga College of TAFE. During the evening, the vice chancellor of La Trobe University, Professor John Dewar, announced a special arrangement between Wodonga College of TAFE and La Trobe University—a seamless pathway for both vocational and higher education qualifications. It was a wonderful night.

I would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge Student of the Year award winner Ben Nicholson. Well done, Ben. The Apprentice of the Year award winner was Rachael Kron and the Koorie Student of the Year winner was Kiley Walkerden. The Industry Collaboration of the Year award winner was Bega Cheese. Terrific job, Bega Cheese. The Teacher/Trainer of the Year award winner was Cath Norris. Excellent work, Cath. The Client Service Support of the Year award went to Keryne Walsh. I congratulate the TAFE CEO Mark Dixon. The Wodonga TAFE Celebration of Achievement Awards night was so important in so many ways. Wodonga, you are doing a fantastic job; you are punching above your weight. I was so pleased that you made— (Time expired)