Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
 Download PDFDownload PDF 

Previous Fragment    Next Fragment


The Acting Deputy President (Senator Troeth) informed the Senate that the President had received letters requesting changes in the membership of committees.

The Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Health and Ageing (Senator McLucas), by leave, moved—That senators be discharged from and appointed to committees as follows:

 Education, Employment and Workplace Relations—Standing Committee—


   Substitute member: Senator Milne to replace Senator Siewert for the committee's inquiry into Australia's research and training capacity in the area of climate change

   Participating member: Senator Siewert

Fuel and Energy—Select Committee—

  Discharged—Senator Fielding

  Appointed—Participating member: Senator Fielding

 Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport—Standing Committee—


   Substitute member: Senator Siewert to replace Senator Milne for the committee's inquiry into the provisions of the Water Amendment Bill 2008

   Participating member: Senator Milne.

Question put and passed.

Messages from the House of Representatives were reported informing the Senate of changes in the membership of joint committees, as follows:

 Message no. 188, dated 10 November 2008—Public Accounts and Audit—Joint Statutory Committee—Mrs BK Bishop and Mr Briggs in place of Mr Baldwin and Mr Morrison.

 Message no. 189, dated 10 November 2008—Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade—Joint Standing Committee—Mrs Markus in place of Mr Robb.

 Message no. 190, dated 10 November 2008—Australian Crime Commission—Joint Statutory Committee—Ms Ley in place of Mr Pyne.

 Message no. 191, dated 10 November 2008—Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity—Joint Statutory Committee—Ms Ley in place of Mr Pyne.

 Message no. 192, dated 11 November 2008—Treaties—Joint Standing Committee—Mr Briggs in place of Mr Andrews.

 Message no. 193, dated 11 November 2008—Migration—Joint Standing Committee—Dr Stone in place of Mr Randall.

 Message no. 194, dated 11 November 2008—Corporations and Financial Services—Joint Statutory Committee—Mr Pearce in place of Mr Keenan.