Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Appointments to the Super System Review Panel.

Download PDFDownload PDF



The Minister for Financial Services, Superannuation and Corporate Law, Chris Bowen MP, today announced the appointment of Ms Meg Heffron and Mr Ian Martin as part-time members of the review into the governance, efficiency, structure and operation of Australia's superannuation system.

The Government established this landmark review with the aim of maximising the retirement incomes of Australians, including through increasing efficiencies, reducing costs and fees and lifting long-term rates of return. The review is chaired by Mr Jeremy Cooper, former Deputy Chairperson of the Australian Securities and Investment Commission.

Ms Heffron is a principal of Heffron Ltd, a firm which specialises in providing self-managed superannuation fund services. She is a well-known expert on self-managed superannuation fund issues and is a member of the Tax Office's National Tax Liaison Group (Superannuation).

Mr Martin has over 25 years' experience in the investment management, superannuation, investment banking and financial services sectors. He was former CEO of BT Australia, as well as inaugural chairman of the Investment and Financial Services Association.

"These appointments will add further strength and diversity to the review panel, which will comprehensively examine our superannuation system," Minister Bowen said.

"I have no doubt both Ms Heffron and Mr Martin will make valuable contributions to the work of the panel."

Details of the review, including the terms of reference, are available at

The review will report to Government by 30 June 2010.

Media Release of 04/08/2009

Page 1 of 1 Press Release - Appointments to the Super System Review Panel [04/08/2009]