Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
IT Industry Innovation Council members announced.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Ministers for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research


Members of the Australian Government’s new Information Technology (IT) Industry Innovation Council have been told their advice to the Government will be crucial to developing a key enabler of Australian innovation.

Senator Kim Carr, Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research, welcomed the Council’s first meeting saying the future of Australian innovation cannot be considered without acknowledging the part played by Australia’s $98 billion IT industry.

“IT will be the principal means to deliver the economic and productivity growth needed to drive innovation across the entire economy,“ Senator Carr said.

“IT is critical to Australia’s directly employing more than 400,000 Australians.

“Council members have been drawn from across the IT spectrum and include representatives of industry, suppliers, users, education, research, government and unions.

“The breadth and depth of experience on offer in the council will ensure that it delivers on its objective to champion innovation through the use of IT.”

The Government’s National Broadband Network will be vital to delivering this smart technology.

Council Chair, Mr John Grant, Managing Director of Data#3 Pty Ltd said the Council would develop a strategic agenda.

“The Council will have a wide agenda to consider innovation within the IT industry itself plus the application of technology to create innovation across the broader economy. It will apply the Government's published innovation framework as it works closely with all stakeholders to execute this agenda,” Mr Grant said.

“The IT sector has its own well earned reputation for having an innovative and entrepreneurial culture. Harnessing that talent for the greater benefit of Australian industry will be one of the Council’s greatest opportunities.” A list of Council members is attached.

Media contacts: Catriona Jackson, Minister's Office, 0417 142 238 Mike Lawson, Department, 02 6213 6490, 0419 416 816

Innovation Minister > Senator the Hon Kim Carr

Media Release

Senator the Hon Kim Carr

21 Jul 2009

Page 1 of 3 Minister - Innovation, Industry, Science and Research



Mr John Grant (Chair), Managing Director, Data#3 Limited (Mr Grant is also Chairman, Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA))

Mr Glen Boreham, Managing Director, IBM Australia & New Zealand

Mr Michael Clifford, Queensland State Secretary, Finance Sector Union

Professor Peter Cole, Associate Professor & Dean School of IT, Murdoch University (Professor Cole is also President, Australian Council of Deans of Information & Communications Technology)

Mr Steve Conolly, Vice President, Siemens IT Solutions & Services, Siemens Ltd

Mr Tom Crago, Chief Executive Officer, Tantalus Interactive Pty Ltd.

Mr Bob Cupitt, Chief Executive Officer, The Learning Edge International Pty Ltd

Mr Peter Dalton, Group General Manager Innovation, Australia & New Zealand Banking Group

Ms Belinda Dennett, Adviser, Office of the Minister for Broadband, Communications & the Digital Economy (Observer)

Ms Ros Eason, Senior Industrial Officer, Communications Division, Communications Electrical & Plumbing Union

Ms Tracey Fellows, Chief Executive Officer, Microsoft Australia

Ms Mia Garlick, Assistant Secretary, Digital Economy, Department of Broadband, Communications & the Digital Economy

Dr Graham Hellestrand, Chief Executive Officer, Embedded Systems Technology Inc (Dr Hellestrand is also a member of the Board of National ICT Australia (NICTA))

Ms Amanda Heyworth, Chief Executive Officer, Playford Capital Pty Ltd,

Ms Anne Hurley, Chief Executive Officer, Communications Alliance (Ms Hurley is also President, National ICT Industries Alliance)

Mr Jan Janssen, Senior Vice President, Design and Development, Cochlear Limited

Mr Paul Kristensen, Executive Chairman, Capital Technologies Pty Ltd

Mr Mike Lawson, General Manager, Competitive Industries Branch, Department of Innovation, Industry, Science & Research

Mr Kumar Parakala, President & Chairman, Australian Computer Society

Ms Suzanne Roche, Director, Smartnet Pty Ltd

Mr Neville Stevens AO, Chairman, National ICT Australia (NICTA)

Page 2 of 3 Minister - Innovation, Industry, Science and Research


Mr Randall Straw, Deputy Secretary, Department of Innovation, Industry & Regional Development, Victoria

Mr Chris Winter, Manager New Services, ABC Innovation

Dr Alex Zelinsky, Director & Group Executive, CSIRO Information & Communications Technologies Centre

z Privacy

z Copyright

z Disclaimer

View Document: to view the complete version of this document, you can:

Note: There may be links contained within this document which will transfer you from this website. As the host of this site, the Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research does not take any responsibility for the content or accuracy of external websites, nor does linking constitute any form of endorsement. Further information is provided in

our disclaimer.

Note: You need Adobe Acrobat Reader 8.0 or above to view PDF files. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer and/or can not view or print the PDF document, you can download a free copy of the software from the Adobe website.

Note: If you have a query relevant to the Department or problems accessing an attached file, please contact us.

Page 3 of 3 Minister - Innovation, Industry, Science and Research