Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
First meeting of the Indigenous Labor Network.

Download PDFDownload PDF


Senator Chris Evans Leader of the Opposition in the Senate Shadow Minister for Indigenous Affairs Shadow Minister for Family and Community Services

19 July 2005


The first meeting of the new Indigenous Labor Network has highlighted the growing representation of elected Indigenous MPs in Labor's ranks.

The Network is an initiative of the ALP National Executive to increase participation and engage Indigenous people in the development of policy in this critical area.

Labor's Senate leader Chris Evans said the Network brings together Indigenous Labor MPs and party members from across Australia and will help shape and develop policy into the future.

'One important element is to increase the participation of Indigenous people in the Australian Labor Party', he said.

'Next year Labor will have its first Indigenous National President in Warren Mundine.

'As Warren has pointed out, recently we have seen the election of Indigenous members in record numbers in Parliaments around Australia - and all on the Labor side.

The current Indigenous members of Parliaments are Alison Anderson, Matthew Bonson, Elliot McAdam, Barbara McCarthy and Marion Scrymgour in the Northern Territory; Carol Martin in Western Australia; Kathryn Hay in Tasmania and Linda Burney in New South Wales.

The convenors of the Indigenous Labor Network are Marion Scrymgour, Linda Burney and Warren Mundine who will coordinate the development of networks in each State and Territory.


For further information: John McNamara, Media Adviser, 0418 308599