Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Chairman of the Australian Council for the Arts

Download PDFDownload PDF



26 March 1974


The Prime Minister announced today the appointment of Professor Peter Karmel, C.B.E., as the new Chairman of the Australian Council for the Arts. Professor Karmel is at present Chairman of the Australian Universities Commission.

The Prime Minister said he was delighted that Professor Karmel had accepted the appointment. His wide experience as a distinguished economist and university and public administrator and his long association with inquiries relating to Government policy and expenditure would be most valuable in the continuing development of sound guidelines for Government initiatives and expenditure in the arts. Professor Karmel1s association with Government policy in the fie-ld of education would also be of great value to the Council, which was particularly concerned with ways in which young people could be encouraged to

participate in the arts.

' Professor Karmel is an Emeritus Professor and former Vice-Chancellor of the Flinders University, South Australia. During his term as Vice-Chancellor, the University showed a strong interest in the arts with the building of a theatre and the establishment of a Department of Drama designed t o . provide professional training and experience and to develop

specialist teachers in the performing arts and media areas.

Other, important, appointments held by Professor Karmel have been the Chancellorship of the University of Papua New Guinea (1969-70) and the Chair of Economics at the University of Adelaide (1950-62) . Councils and committees on which Professor Karmel has served include the Australian Council of Educational Research, the Committee of Inquiry into Education in South Australia (1969-70), the Commonwealth Committee on the future of Tertiary Education (1961-65), the Commonwealth Committee on Economic Inquiry (1963-65), the Manufacturing Industries Advisory Council (1960-66), the South Australia Industrial Development Advisory Council and the South Australia State Committee for C.S.I.R.O. Professor Karmel will

succeed the Council's founding Chairman, Dr. H.C. Coombs, who

will retire on 30 June 1974. .