Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Visit of Soviet earth science delegation

Download PDFDownload PDF


Press Statement No.(512

10 J une 1975


The Prime Minister and Acting Foreign Minister, Mr E.G. Whitlam, announced today that a party of four Soviet earth scientists arrived in Sydney this morning, Tuesday 10 June. Tha group is visiting Australia for two weeks under the auspices of the Australian/Soviet Science Agreement. Another Soviet

earth scientist, who is already in Australia, will join the delegation in Adelaide. .

During their Australian visit the Soviet earth scientists will have discussions with Australian scientists on possible collaborative research projects, and they will visit Australian laboratories and installations. At the end of the

visit the Soviet earth scientists and their Australian counterparts will recommend to the two Government a program of co-operation in earth sciences under the science agreement.

The Soviet earth scientists will visit Macquarie University, the CSIRO Minerals Research Laboratories and the University of New South Wales in Sydney and the Australian National University and the Bureau of Mineral Resources, Geology

and Geophysics in Canberra. In Victoria they will visit a BHP/ Esso off-shore production platform in Bass Strait. The South Australian Department of Mines and the University of Adelaide have arranged geological excursions near Adelaide for the Soviet visitors. During the Soviet group's visit to the Northern Territory

its members will inspect geological formations near Katherine and the Australian National University's geophysical station at Tennant Creek.

Mr Whitlam said that the visit to Australia by the Soviet group returned a visit to the USSR in December 1974 by a group of Australian earth scientists led by Mr I.E. Newnham of CSIRO.

The members of the visit Soviet earth sciences group are:

Academician B.S. Sokolov, Institute of Geology and Geophysics, Siberian Branch, USSR Academy of Sciences.

Professor A.A. Geodekyan, Earth Sciences Section, USSR Academy of Sciences.

Professor Yu.D. Boulanger, Institute of Earth Physics, USSR Academy of Sciences.

. .. / 2

- 2 -

Dr N.M. Kiselyov, Department of Foreign Relations, USSR Academy of Sciences.

Dr A. Yu. Rosanov, a Soviet earth scientist, at present working on leave at the University of Adelaide.