Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Film and Television School

Download PDFDownload PDF

• ? · : •Λ»·. - - · ' ' S



22 June 1973

. t


The Prime Minister, Mr. Whitlam, today announced the names of those invited to join the permanent Council of the Film and Television School.

The Prime Minister said that the Interim Council of the Film and Television School had been set up in 1969 to . advise the Government on the necessary steps to bring the School into operation. This work had now been done and .

Professor Jerzy Toeplitz had been appointed as the School's , foundation Director. "

Legislation was introduced in Parliament on 31 May to establish the School as an independent body. Mr. Whitlam said that with„this step he envisaged a new kind of Council - one in which the staff and students of the School would be . represented and which would have strong links to film-making ·


It was intended that when the School was fully operating the Council would have fifteen full members, five to be appointed by the Governor-General, two elected from the teachers of the School, two elected from the students, the Director of the School, and five elected by a convocation of the School. The convocation would consist of graduates of the School, staff, past Council members and representatives of the widest range of film and television interests including education,

industry and community groμps.

The Prime Minister said "I hope that by the appointment, of a representative body of this kind it will be possible to ensure that the School conducts its activities in a way which will be most responsive to the needs of promising young film-makers and of the community which will provide a public for their work." . .



5 . " ^ v v ; >,.f .

V »-·' ■“*» ' *

. The names of the persons invited to join the Council were decided following wide consultation with members of the film and television industry.' They are :

Hector Crawford, O.B.E. ° Melbourne, Managing Director of 'v Crawford Productions Pty. Ltd.

Mrs. Julia Bailey Sydney, Education, Television and Film Producer and Writer.

John Flaus Melbourne, Lecturer at the Media

Centre, School of Education,


La Trobe University.

Geoffrey Healy * Sydney, Manager of Group Operation ATN Channel Seven.

Mrs. Joan Long Sydney, Film Writer and President

Australian Writers Guild.

Richard Mason Sydney, Film Producer and member o

the Film and Television Board of the Australian Council for the Arts.

James Oswin Sydney, Secretary, Department of

the Media.


Brian Robinson Melbourne, Lecturer-in-Charge, Film and Television Production Course at Swinburne College of Technology, and member of the Course Development Committee, Film and Television Victoria

Institute of Colleges. .

Peter Weir Sydney, Film Director "

Professor Jerzy

■ Toeplitz

Ex officio member, foundation Director of the Australian Film and Television School.

Half of the members of the new Council would, on the completion of their initial term, be replaced by persons elected by convocation. They would, of course, be eligible for election-.

' V . ' · ' '

- ' * · ξ


....;.jiS|§§ • - ' ■ · · ' ’■■;·"·â– â–  ■ · ■ . · · ' ' ·