Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Coughlan to head Technical and Further Education Commission

Download PDFDownload PDF

Ministerial No.80 8 June, 1975


Mr. H.K. Goughian is to be Chairman of the new Technical

and Further Education Commission.

The Minister for Education, Mr. Kim Beazley, announced

Mr. Coughlan's appointment in Canberra today. He said that Mr.

Goughian, who is at present Associate Commissioner with the Cities

Commission, would take up his duties as Chairman on 1 July, 1975

for a term of seven years.

The Technical and Further Education Commission is to advise

the Minister on the Australian Government's programs of financial

assistance for technical and further education in the States, and

related matters. Legislation to establish the Commission has been

passed by Parliament during its present sittings.

Mr. Beazley said that Mr. Goughian had long experience in

the administration of Australian Government activities in education.

He had held senior positions in the Commonwealth Office of Education,

the Education Division of Prime Minister's Department and the

Department of Education and Science. He had played a major role in

developing education policies and programs in a number of areas:

these included grants to the States for technical education and

other facilities, and the establishment of the Canberra College of

Advanced Education, the Darwin Community College and the Commonwealth

Teaching Service. More recently he has been closely involved in the

development of plans for Albury/Wodonga and the Geelong Growth


Mr. Beazley said that he would be announcing other appointments

to the new Technical and Further Education Commission as soon as possible. '