Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Building advisory council formed

Download PDFDownload PDF




The Minister for the Capital Territory, Mr.

Gordon Bryant, said today that a Building Industry Advisory

Council had been formed in the A.C.T. to advise the

Government on the Building Industry within the Canberra


Mr. Bryant said that the Council had now met on

three occasions and had on each occasion had useful discussions

ranging over a wide area of industry problems.

It is intended that the Council will meet regularly

at about monthly intervals to discuss and advise on Government

and Building Industry problems and initiatives.

The Advisory Council membership is drawn from a

broad representation of Industry interests and it will foster

close co-operation between the Government and industry within

the A.C.T.

The membership of the Council is as follows:-

Hon . G.M. Bryant, M.P. Chairman

Mr. D. Guy Institution of Engineers Australia

(Canberra Division)

Mr. J.B. Burchfield Bank of New South Wales

Mr. Ε.Ή. Sanders Commonwealth Banking Corp.

Mr. W. Lieske A.C.T. Employers Federation

Mr. D. Bastion Association of Co-operative Building

Societies of the A.C.T.

Mr. P.J. Simmonds A.C.T. Credit Union League Co­

operative Ltd.

Mr. W. Persse Australian Finance Conference

(A.C.T. Division)

Mr. J.G. Service Canberra Chamber of Commerce