Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Gallery of Aboriginal Australia

Download PDFDownload PDF


(Statement by the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Senator J.L. Cavanagh)

The Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Senator Cavanagh, today (Wed.)

announced the formation of a Planning Committee to examine and report on

the establishment of a Gallery of Aboriginal Australia in Canberra.

One of the members of the Committee will be Professor W.E.H. Stanner

Emeritus Professor, Department of Anthropology, Australian National University

who first suggested the setting up of such a gallery more than 10 years ago.

Other members of the Committee will be: Mr. Ken Colbung, Mr. Bob

Edwards, Mr. John Gwadbu, Mr. Herbert Parker, ^r. Dick Roughsey, Ms. Margaret

Valadian, Professor J. Mulvaney, Dr. P. Ucko and Mr. d . M0ore. f.

Among the Aboriginal members of the Committee are Mr. Dick Roughsey,

Chairman of the Aboriginal Arts Board, and two who have been nominated by

the National Aboriginal Consultative Committee — Mr. Gwadbu, from Goulbum

Island, N.T. and Mr. Parker, from Onslow W.A.

Other members include experts in the fields' of Aboriginal prehistory

and material culture as well as museum administration. >

One of them is Professor Mulvaney, Deputy Chairman of the Institute

of Aboriginal Studies. Professor Mulvaney is also a member of the Committee

of Inquiry into the development and co-ordination of museums and collections

appointed by the Special Minister of State in 1974. The Planning Committee

will report to this Committee of Inquiry. It will have its first meeting

next month. '


23 April, 1975