Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Music scholarship winners announced

Download PDFDownload PDF

Parliament House Canberra, A.C.T. 2600

Minister for Education

Ministerial 84 3 December 1 974


The Minister for Education, Mr Kim Beazley, announced today the winners of Canberra School of Music Scholarships for 1975»

The scholarships pay tuition fees for a major subject at the school for one academic year plus a music and materials allowance.

They are worth $320 each.

Mr Beazley said 130 students had applied for the scholarships and the standard of work had been generally high.

Some applicants had shown exceptional talent.

The winners include adults and children, the youngest being 10.

They are

Mark FREER Red Hill, ACT piano

Patrick GIDDINGS Swinger Hill, ACT clarinet

Nicholas SHORT Campbell, ACT cello

Phillips CANDY . Hawker, ACT piano

Susan NEWSOME Red Hill, ACT clarinet

Alan SMITH Hackett, ACT violin

Leigh CONLEY Mawson, ACT piano

Wendy QUINLAN O ’Connor, ACT flute

Janet WEBB Yarralumla, ACT > flute

Julian BAILEY Deakin, ACT piano

Pauline GRIFFITHS Macgregor, ACT violin

Eileen GILLIGAN Deakin, ACT flute

John BONNETT Higgins, ACT piano

Rhonda GUNNING ■ Yass, NSW voice

Martin FORTESCUE Campbell, ACT horn

Timothy DOWLING Canberra, ACT trombone

Catriona EUCHDAHL Campbell, ACT violin

David QUINLAN O'Connor, ACT trumpet

Rebecca LAGOS Deakin, ACT percussion

Sally McFADDEN Cooma, NSW clarinet

Richard WRIGHT · Aranda, ACT violin

Anna MEZAROS . Narrabundah, ACT piano

Mark BOAST Scullin, ACT guitar

Martin GILBY Deakin, ACT horn

Mark STEGEMAN : Red Hill, ACT piano

Inquiries: Paul Slocum

Phone: 817337 (w) 581872 (h)