Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Major review of tertiary education assistance scheme

Download PDFDownload PDF

Parliament House Canberra, A C T. 2 6 0 0

Ministerial No. 70 9 October, 197^


The Minister for Education, Mr. Kim E. Beazley, announced today the appointment of a Committee to carry out a major Review of the Tertiary Education Assistance Scheme.

The Minister said that it was the Government’s policy to assist students financially, to enable them to study without undue hardship. The Committee will make recommendations on assistance for students in tertiary

and post-secondary education.

Mr. Beazley said that Dr. H.S. Williams, Director, Western Australian Institute of Technology had agreed to accept Chairmanship of the Committee. Other members would be Professor G.A. Barclay, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Macquarie University, Mr. N. McLean,

President, Australian Union of Students and Mr. E.S. Rolfe, Assistant Secretary, Australian Department of Education/

The Minister said the Committee would seek submissions from a variety of relevant authorities and would be glad to receive submissions from any interested members of the public. These should be addressed to the

Secretary, Committee on Tertiary Assistance, Department of Education, Canberra. ยท

Inquiries: Mr. E.S. Rolfe, Department of Education

Tel: 81 7053