Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Companies awarded earth station contracts

Download PDFDownload PDF


Contracts for 88 prototype earth stations for use in trials

connected with, the National Communications Satellite System

have been awarded to two companies.

The Minister for Communications, Mr Neil Brown, announced today

that the contracts, each for 44 earth stations, had been awarded

to Codan Pty Ltd ($154 106) and NEC Australia Pty Ltd ($106 982).

Mr Brown foreshadowed the awarding of the contracts on 17 August

when he announced that the Department of Communications would .

buy 132 prototype earth stations for trial purposes.

"The prototypes will help my Department develop technical standards

for the earth stations seeded for reception of the Homestead and

Community Broadcasting Satellite Service (HACBSS)", Mr Brown


"HACBSS will bring ABC television/radio programs to remote

communities with the introduction of the satellite system in

Codan Pty Ltd, an Australian company, will produce its earth

stations in partnership with SED Systems, of Canada. NEC

Australia Pty Ltd is Japanese-owned.

Mr Brown said his Department was looking further afield for

suppliers of the other 44 prototypes required. The idea was to

trial earth stations from as many potential manufacturers as


For this purpose the Department was telexing various manufacturers

Press Release

No. 82/56 Date25 August 1982

Minister for Communications The Hon. N.A. Brown, Q.C., M.P.



, , ,/2

2 .

represented in Australia seeking expressions of interest in

supplying prototypes. A senior DOC engineer.was also overseas

investigating the availability of prptotypes.

HACBSS will operate in the 12.5-12.75 GHz band and users will

need low cost receive-only earth stations with dish antennas

generally in the range of .1.2-1.8 metres diameter.

As previously announced, the earth stations will be installed

at test sites at Innisfail, Port Hedland and Alice Springs.

These sites have been chosen for their extreme weather

characteristics such as high rainfall, cyclonic winds, dust and

wide fluctuations in temperatures.

25 August 1982