Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
National film and sound archive advisory committee

Download PDFDownload PDF






The Minister for Home Affairs and Environment, Mr Barry Cohen,

announced today the appointments of the National Film and Sound Archive Advisory Committee.

The Committee is comprised of the following members:

- Joan Long (Chairman), writer, film historian and producer of "Silver City"; "The Picture Show Man" and other films, (NSW)

- David Heinrichsen, television producer and manager of Bendigo Street Productions, (Vic)

- Barrie King, Chairman of the Western Australian State Film Archive Advisory Committee and President of Australian Council of Film Societies, (WA)

- John Kreger, retired official of Australian Telecommunications Employees Association, involved in activities of the Sydney New Theatre, (NSW)

- James Malone, Federal Director and Chief Executive of Federation of Australian Commercial Television Stations, (NSW)

- Brian Robinson, Head of Department of Film and Television, Swinburne Institute of Technology, (Vic)

- John Morris, Managing Director of the South Australian Film Corporation, (SA)

- Victoria Rubensohn, Executive Director of the Australian Record Industry Association, (NSW)

- Jeffrey Rushton, Deputy Federal Director "of the Federation of Australian Radio Broadcasters, (NSW)

- Merle Thornton, writer and part-time lecturer in Women's Studies and Government, University of Queensland, (Qld)

. . ./2

2 .

7 Frank Van Straten, Director of the Performing Arts Museum, Victorian Arts Centre, (Vic)

- Colin Pitson, Interim Director of the National Film and Sound Archive, is an ex-officio member of the Advisory Committee.

The Advisory Committee is to report to the Minister for Home

Affairs and Environment within twelve months on the development of

the National Film and Sound Archive. It will advise the Government on a range of matters including accommodation,

staffing, regional representation, appropriate charges for

services, a preservation program and timetable, relations with the

industry and trade and deposit requirements.

For further information on appointments, telephone Mr Pitson,

Interim Director of the National Film and Sound Archive, on (062) 671711.

Canberra, 24 July 1984

No 82 of 1984