Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Advisory council on Australian archives

Download PDFDownload PDF





The Minister for Home Affairs and Environment, the Honourable Barry Cohen MP, announced today membership of the new Advisory Council on Australian Archives.

Under the Archives Act, the Advisory Council is to provide advice to the Minister and to the Director-General of the Australian Archives, on all matters relating to the Australian Archives.

The members of the Advisory Council have been drawn from a wide range of fields to ensure that the interests of both the community at large and of the public sector are represented since the Australian Archives is responsible for the provision of services to both of these interests. .

The Chairman of the Advisory Council will be Mr Alexander John Campbell, QBE, Deputy General Manager and Director, CSR Ltd. who has had extensive experience in both the private and public sectors. The Deputy Chairman will be Dr Jocelyn Annette Scutt, Director of Research, Legal and Constitutional Committee, Parliament of victoria.

The other members of the Advisory Council are -

Ms P.A. Collings

Mr M. Easson

Lecturer in Computing, Canberra College of Advanced Education *

Assistant Secretary, NSW Labor Council

Ms D.C. Fleming

Mr P.J. Fogarty

Manager, Corporate Development, Hooper Bailie Industries '

' . ? 1

First Assistant Secretary, Policy Co-ordination Division, Department of Defence

Mr C. Hollis, MP Member for MacArthur, NSW (appointed by the

House of Representatives)

Senator K.J. Martin Senator for Queensland (appointed by the Senate)

Dr S. Murray-Smith, AM

Dr C. Saunders

prof. C.B. Schedvin

Reader in Education, University of Melbourne

Senior Lecturer in Constitutional and Administrative Law, University of Melbourne

Professor of Economic History, University of Melbourne

Mr N. Tanzer . Deputy Director-General, Department of Social


Sir Geoffrey Yeend, CBE Secretary, Department of the Prime Minister ' and Cabinet

Canberra 19 October No 129 of 1984