Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Prominent Australians to join national Australia day council

Download PDFDownload PDF


25 October,1984.


Michael Edgley, Jackie Weaver , Mark Ella, Father Brian Gore

and John Reid are to join John Newcombe on a revitalised National Australia Day Committee, which has been renamed the National Australia Day Council.

Announcing the Commonwealth's appointments in Canberra today, the Minister for Home Affairs and Environment, Mr Barry Cohen, said the appointments 'are part of the

Government's plans to improve the national co-ordination of Australia Day celebrations'.

Originally established in 1979 under the Chairmanship of Herb Elliott, and later John Newcombe, the National Australia Day Committee played a prominent role in popularising Australia's national day.

Mr Cohen said the Government had decided to upgrade the

Committee to a Council and include members nominated by State* Premiers and the Chief Minister of the Northern Territory to improve co-ordination of celebrations in the

years leading up to, and beyond, the Bicentennial in 1988.

Government. ^

Commenting on the Commonwealth Government's choice of

members, Mr Cohen said that all are prominent members of our community who have made a significant contribution to our

everyday way of life. 'All are particularly proud of being

Members have previously been appointed solely by the Federal


— 2—

A u s t r a l i a n and have s h o w n t h e m s e l v e s to be well q u a l i f i e d to lead us in the c e l e b r a t i o n of our n a t i o n a l day', he said.

Th e P r i m e M i n i s t e r has w r i t t e n to the P r e m i e r s and C h ief

M i n i s t e r of the N o r t h e r n T e r r i t o r y to seek their n o m i n e e s to the new Co u n c i l .

Mr J o h n Reid, C h a i r m a n of the A u s t r a l i a n B i c e n t e n n i a l A u t h o r i t y will s e r v e on the C o u n c i l as a r e p r e s e n t a t i v e of that o r g a n i s a t i o n .

One of the new C o u n c i l ' s first dut i e s will be to select the

A u s t r a l i a n and Y o u n g A u s t r a l i a n of the Year for 1984. At l e a s t one m e m b e r , M a r k Ella, is h i g h l y q u a l i f i e d for this task. E l l a was s e l e c t e d as Y o u n g A u s t r a l i a n of the Year in

1982 .