Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Australian National University Council appointment

Download PDFDownload PDF


Minister fo r^L /

Education & Youth Affairs

5 March 1984


The Minister for Education and Youth Affairs, Senator Susan Ryan,

today announced five appointments to the Australian National

University Council.

Mr William Park, CBE, was re-appointed for a three-year term and

Ms Joan Ford, Mr Peter Kirby, Ms Julia Ryan and Dr Ruth White were

appointed also for three-year terms.

Mr Park is a member of the Brisbane Stock Exchange and a partner

in the stockholding firm of Henderson, Park, Earnshaw and

Pitfield. He has been a Council member since August 1977.

Ms Joan Ford is Human Resources Co-ordinator at Esso Australia

Ltd. She was previously employed as an Employment Research

Consultant and was a Visiting Scholar at Stanford University in


Mr Kirby is Chairman of the Victorian Technical and Further

Education Board and a part-time Commissioner of the Victorian

Poet-Secondary Education Commission. He was formerly Deputy

Director of the Victorian Ministry of Employment and Training.

Ms Ryan is an ACT secondary school teacher and was formerly a

tutor and lecturer in the Women's Studies Unit at the Australian

National University. She was a foundation member and teacher at

SWOW (School Without Walls), Canberra.

. . /2

2 .

Dr White is a Senior Lecture in the School of Medical Education at

the University of New South Wales. She was formerly Head of the

School of Health Professionals, Sturt College, South Australia,

and a Lecturer at the University of New South W a l e s .

Senator Ryan said she was confident that the people appointed

would bring a balance and range of experience that would

contribute significantly to the work of the Council in the further

development of the University.