Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Membership of the National Advisory and Co-ordinating Committee on Multicultural Education

Download PDFDownload PDF

Minister fo r

' Education 6 Youth Affairs

M. 35/84

27 March 1984



The Minister for Education and Youth Affairs, Senator Susan Ryan,

today announced that Professor D.L. Jayasuriya, head of the

Department of Social Work and Social Administration at the

University of Western Australia, is to be the Chairman of the

first National Advisory and Co-ordinating Committee on

Multicultural Education.

The other eleven Committee members are as follows:

Ms A. Eckstein, Victorian Department of Education.

Mr J. Giles, Assistant Director-General, South Australian

Department of Education.

Ms B. Hopkins, ESL teacher, Bruce College of Technical and

Further Education, ACT.

Mr J. Lo Bianco, policy development officer, Victorian Teachers


Ms V. Nihas, professional assistant, multicultural education, New

South Wales Ministry of Education.

Mr H. Overberg, senior lecturer in education, Victoria College,

Rusden Campus.

Ms H. Rudnik, consultant, New South Wales Board of Adult


Ms M. Schlnella, principal, Ht. Carmel Primary School, Rosewater,

South Australia.

Ms R. Tang, supervisor. Child Migrant Education Program, Catholic

Education Commission of Western Australia.

Ms M. Valadian, co-director, Aboriginal Training and Cultural

Institute, Sydney.

Mr R. Warry, director, planning and services, Queensland

Department of Education.

.. ./2




Senator Ryan said the Government had also accepted nominations

from the Northern Territory and Tasmania, but negotiations were

still in progress with territory and State authorities regarding

their endorsement and release to work on the Committee.

In announcing the Committee, Senator Ryan said that it would fill

an important role in providing advice on the needs of

multicultural education for those in schools and tertiary

institutions and for those outside the formal education system.

The Committee would co-ordinate, monitor and review multicultural

programs and activities and would determine appropriate

procedures for information exchange on multicultural education.

Senator Ryan said the Government believed it was essential for

the education system to reflect more adequately the changing

ethnic composition of the Australian community. The diversity of

Australian society provided excellent opportunities for cultural

and educational enrichment. It would be the Committee’s job to

identify the cultural resources within the community and to

advise on how best they could be drawn upon for the benefit of

all Australians.

Senator Ryan said that the idea for the Committee had stemmed

from the work of the Australian Institute of Multicultural

Affairs. The Department of Education and Youth Affairs had

consulted fully with the States and Territories on the membership

of the Committee and the final list reflected the particular

spectrum of interests and backgrounds within the Australian


Enquiries: Ken Henrick (062) 897414 (V)

(062) 313626 (H)