Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Sport fact sheet

Download PDFDownload PDF

The Hon Warwick .Smith MR Minister for Sport, Territories an

Federal Member for Bass

13 May 1997

Sport Fact Sheet

1997-98 Outlays

Recreation Development Australian Sports Commission

$4,537,000 $89,977,000

The Howard Government’s commitment to sport and recreation is demonstrated in its allocation of more than $95 million in the 1997-98 Budget.

The Australian Sports Commission (ASC) is the Federal Government agency responsible for the funding and development of sport. It supports a wide range of programmes designed to develop sporting excellence and increase participation in sports activities by all Australians. In addition, the ASC is involved in research, technology and product development which benefits athletes and organisations at all levels in Australia.

The Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) is the elite sporting development group within the ASC. It integrates sports sciences and medical services, sports management activities and funding as well as athlete welfare. The Olympic Athlete Program (OAP) and the Sports Assistance Scheme (SAB) are administered by the AIS. In 1997-98, OAP funding will rise

from $20 million to $25 million.

Participation development and education programs are undertaken by the ASC’s Sports Development and Policy group. This group is responsible for the implementation of the Howard Government’s innovative 'Active Australia" programme. Active Australia aims to: increase and enhance lifelong participation; develop quality infrastructure and services; and

realise the social, health and economic benefits of participation.

The National Office of Sport and Recreation Policy (NOSARP) administers the financial agreement between the Commonwealth and the Sydney Paralympic Organising Committee (SPOC). In 1997-98, the Federal Government will contribute a further $4 million toward the

costs of conducting the Paralympic Games in Sydney in the year 2000.

Contact: Steve Amaudon (06) 252 1370 Margaret Sutherland 0419 238 754 ASC Minister’s Office (06) 277 7080

Parliament House, Canberra ACT 2600. Telephone 06 277 7080 Facsimile 0 6 273 4571 office, Cnr George and Cameron Streets, Launceston, Tasmania 7250. Telephone 03 6334 8511 Facsimile 03 6334 85