Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Minister congratulates science Olympians.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Release


MIN 35-02 24/5/02

Federal Minister for Science Peter McGauran today congratulated the 23 young Australian school students who will represent Australia at the 2002 International Olympiads in Biology, Chemistry, Informatics, Mathematics and Physics.

Making the announcement at Parliament House, Mr McGauran compared their achievements to sporting Olympians.

"In fact, it has been estimated that competing in these examinations against students from throughout the world is the equivalent of running back-to-back marathons," Mr McGauran said.

"It requires great physical endurance as well as mental stamina. I congratulate all the young Olympians for their efforts in reaching the pinnacle of achievement for Australian secondary school students."

Australia’s Science and Mathematical Olympiad programs are co-ordinated by the Rio Tinto Australian Science Olympiads (RTASO) and the Australian Mathematics Trust.

"These young achievers have combined outstanding intellect with a similar level of dedication and the willingness to meet a challenge head on as our sporting Olympians," Mr McGauran said.

"They represent the future of science and maths in this country."

The students were selected following success in a series of national competitions and advanced training programs that involved around 20,000 students.

At the international events, competitors are required to sit rigorous theoretical and practical examinations that will test their advanced knowledge and problem solving skills. The ultimate reward is to win a gold medal, awarded to around the top 5% of competitors in the competition.

The International Olympiads will be held in the following locations in July 2002:

Biology: Jurmala, Latvia

Chemistry: Groningen, Holland

Informatics: Yon-in, Korea

Mathematics: Glasgow, UK

Physics: Bali,Indonesia

For more information on the Olympiads, see

For further information contact Darren Chester (Mr McGauran’s office) on 02 6277 7440 or Marty Alsford (Executive Director, RTASO) 0416 266 894.