Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Nominations for 2008 Prime Minister's Prizes for Science closing soon.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Innovation, Industry, Science and Research: Ministers and Parliamentary Secretary


Senator Kim Carr, Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research, has encouraged Australia’s scientists and science educators to nominate outstanding colleagues for this

year’s Prime

Minister’s Prizes for Science.

"The Australian Government is committed to building a strong and vibrant science and science education environment across Australia, in partnership with the State and Territory Governments.

"But the strength of our capabilities depends on the quality of people who have committed themselves to careers in these fields.

"The Government is keen to highlight the important role such high calibre people are playing in building our intellectual capital, and to celebrate their achievements," Senator Carr said.

"Previous recipients of the Prime Minister's Prizes for Science are now considered to be leading researchers and educators.

"They represent our brightest researchers in fields as diverse as marine engineering, quantum computing and nano-scale materials technology. Others excel in science education - and their work has prompted a significant increase in the number of students studying physics, chemistry and biology to Year 12 and beyond," Senator Carr said.

"These Australians make an enormous contribution to science endeavour and education and the Government places a high priority on recognising and celebrating their efforts. I encourage all who know of potentially worthy recipients of these prizes to put their names forward."

Nominations can be made on-line at The nomination round closes this Friday, 9 May 2008, but nominations ne ed not be completed by this deadline. The Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research can provide assistance at all stages of the nomination process. Inquiries can be made by telephone to (02) 6240 5066 or by email to

Media contact: Catriona Jackson, Minister’s Office, 0417 142 238

IISR Minister > Senator the Hon Kim Carr

Media Release

Senator the Hon Kim Carr

06 May 2008