Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Nineteen ACT and NSW veterans' children receive bursaries.

Download PDFDownload PDF

The Hon Alan Griffin MP 

Minister for Veterans' Affairs and Defence Personnel 


Friday, 28 May 2010


Two students from the Australian Capital Territory and 17 students from New South Wales will receive up to $9000 each to help them complete their tertiary education, Minister for Veterans’ Affairs Alan Griffin announced today.

Mr Griffin said the Long Tan Bursary scheme aims to help dedicated students achieve their long-term education goals by easing the financial cost of tertiary study.

“These students have proven their strength of character and commitment to pursuing professional careers and I am pleased that the Australian Government has been able to support them in reaching their goals,” Mr Griffin said.

The Long Tan Bursary scheme recognises that children of Vietnam veterans can face health and wellbeing challenges due to their parent’s service and aims to relieve these students of some financial burden so they can concentrate on completing their studies successfully.

Long Tan Bursaries totalling $504,000 will be presented to 56 Australian students this year. More than 300 sons and daughters of Vietnam veterans have benefitted from the bursary scheme since it was introduced in 2000.

The Australian Government is also seeking to lift the aspirations of students who would previously never have considered university through the introduction of two scholarships within the 2009-10 Budget.

For more information on the Long Tan Bursary go to the Long Tan Bursary Information Page.

For more information on student income support reforms, visit Minister Griffin’s media release page.

Media inquiries: Sasha Nimmo 0437 863 109

Editors note: A list of bursary recipients from the ACT and NSW is attached.

The VVCS - Veterans and Veterans Families Counselling Service can be contacted 24 hours a day, seven days a week on 1800 011 046.

To receive the Minister’s media releases automatically by email subscribe at


Long Tan Bursary recipients for the Australian Capital Territory and New South Wales*


•        Katherine Cymbalak, Bachelor of Commerce, University of Canberra

•        Jessica Drake, Bachelor of Science (Psychology), Australian National University


•        Heidi Brown, Bachelor of Nursing, Southern Cross University

•        Sally-Ann Constable, Bachelor of Fine Arts, University of Newcastle

•        Meika Croker, Bachelor of Veterinary Biology/Bachelor of Veterinary Science, Charles Sturt University

•        Sarah Ellen, Bachelor of Science, University of New South Wales

•        Allanna Girdwood, Bachelor of Design, University of Technology

•        Yvette Hopper, Diploma of Community Welfare, Nowra TAFE

•        Chantelle Kramer, Bachelor of Interior Architecture, University of New South Wales

•        Aimee Lockeridge, Bachelor of Commerce, University of Wollongong

•        Katherine MacKenzie, Bachelor of Arts (Sociology), University of Newcastle

•        Nelson McLaughlin, Bachelor of Applied Science (Sport and Exercise Science), University of Western Sydney

•        Natalie O’Brien, Bachelor of Asia Pacific Studies, Australian National University

•        Linda O’Rance, Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery at University of Wollongong

•        Nicholas Orr, Bachelor of Environmental Engineering, University of Newcastle

•        Eleanor Shepherd, Bachelor of Creative Arts (Graphic Design)/Bachelor of Arts, University of Wollongong.

*Please note three of the bursary recipients wish to remain anonymous.