Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
CSIRO's Simon McKeon named Australian of the Year

Download PDFDownload PDF


25 Jan 2011

Innovation Minister Senator Kim Carr has congratulated CSIRO Chairman Simon McKeon on being named Australian of the Year 2011 at a ceremony outside Parliament House in Canberra this evening.

“I am delighted that Mr McKeon has been recognised for his contribution to Australia,” Senator Carr said.

“In his role as Chairman of the CSIRO, Mr McKeon plays a vital role in Australia’s scientific future and I am pleased to have the privilege to see firsthand his passion and commitment to improving our country."

The Australian of the Year awards recognise remarkable Australians who, through their actions and the way they lead their day to day lives inspire us all.

Senator Carr also congratulated Senior Australian of the Year Professor Ron McCallum AO.

“Professor McCallum is an inspiration to us all. He has played an impressive role in academic life and been a major contributor to public debate over many years."

Senator Carr also congratulated the winners and nominees from all Australian of the Year categories and encouraged Australians of all ages to aspire to excellence.

For more information on the Australian of the Year Awards and the recipients, visit

For more information about the CSIRO, visit