Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Automotive Manufacturing Council

Download PDFDownload PDF

The Hon. J o h n M o o r e . MR M in ister fo r Industry, Science and Tourism

M e d i a


26 May 1926 42/96


I am pleased to announce the appointment of members to the new Automotive Manufacturing Council.

The Council will be the primary source of advice to the Government on the automotive industry and will provide a new focus on the issues confronting the industry now and into the next century.

The Council will hold its first meeting in Canberra on Thursday 30 May 1996. It is the first of the industry-based consultative bodies promised by this Government in its Industry and Commerce policy statement.

The members I have selected are senior representatives of vehicle manufacturers, importers, component producers and the union.

The Automotive Manufacturing Council replaces the previous Government’s Automotive Industry Consultative Council. That Council was formed in July last year, but only met once.

The first task of the new Council will be to advise on the terms of reference for the forthcoming Productivity Commission inquiry into the automotive industry.

A list of Council members is attached.

Contact: CMR037

Cheryl Cartwright Mr M oore’s Office 06 2777580


Chair - Minister for Industry, Science and Tourism, Mr John Moore

Vehicle manufacturers

Mr Bill Hamel Chairman and Managing Director General M otors-Holden's Automotive Ltd

Mr David Morgan President Ford Motor Company of Australia Ltd

Vehicle importers

Mr Bernt Schlickum Principal Executive Officer Mercedes-Benz (Australia) Pty Ltd

Component producers

Mr Grant Anderson Managing Director Britax Rainsfords Pty Ltd

Mr Ivan James Managing Director Automotive Components Ltd


Mr Kim Elliott Organiser, Metals Division Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union

Ex officio members

Mr Nixon Apple Research Officer Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union

Mr Malcolm Stewart Director Federation o f Automotive Products Manufacturers

Mr Osamu (Sam) Komori President and Chief Executive Officer Toyota Motor Corporation

Mr Mike Quinn Managing Director Mitsubishi Motors Australia Ltd

Mr Peter Sturrock Chairman Inchcape Automotive Australia Pty Ltd

Mr Bruce Griffiths Managing Director Air International Group Ltd

Mr John MacKenzie Managing Director PBR. Automotive Pty Ltd

Mr Ian Jones Asst National Secretary, Vehicle Division Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union

Mr Ian Grigg Chief Executive Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries