Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
ANZAC spirit alive in schools and communities.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Release


14 March 2005 MIN 1061/05

Seven talented, young Australians have been announced winners of the 2005 Simpson Prize, in which our students consider what Anzac Day means to them, and to Australia.

The Simpson prize honours John Simpson Kirkpatrick- ‘the man with the donkey,’ famous for his bravery under fire rescuing soldiers at Gallipoli.

This popular national competition coincides in its seventh year with the commemoration of the 90th Anniversary of the Gallipoli campaign and the forging of the Anzac tradition.

This year, students were invited to submit an essay or audio-visual presentation looking at elements of the Anzac tradition and spirit which have remained constant in Australian society.

Simpson’s actions personify the meaning of selfless service for others. As Mathew Dean, this year’s winner from Western Australia wrote in his essay, “a commitment to making a difference within our own communities is perhaps the greatest tribute that can be offered” to honouring the original ANZACs.

In Australia’s schools, as well as gaining knowledge and skills, students learn about caring for others and respecting views which differ from our own. As part of the Howard Government’s $29.7 million commitment to specifically support values education in Australian schools, every school in Australia has now received a poster listing the nine Values for Australian Schooling.

The poster, to be prominently displayed, includes the timeless image of Simpson helping a fellow digger - an image I hope will move students to reflect on the meaning of values (1 of 2) [15/03/2005 5:51:03 PM]

such as care and compassion, respect and responsibility.

I congratulate the nearly 1,500 Year 9 and 10 students who entered the competition and the seven winners who have each won an all expenses paid trip to Turkey in April to attend Anzac Day services in Gallipoli.

The winners and the runners-up all receive medallions plus a two-day educational excursion to Canberra to visit the Australian War Memorial and Parliament House.

The Australian Government provided funding of $170,000 for the 2005 Simpson Prize. The competition will continue with further funding next year.

Media Contacts: Dr Nelson’s Office: Yaron Finkelstein 0414 927 663 Dept of Education, Science & Training: Tony Mithen 02 6240 7174


Simpson Prize 2005 Winners

To contact students and obtain a copy of their essay (or video script) please phone Christine Reid (History Teachers’ Association of Australia) on: 03 9419 9622 or 0419 199 622.

Winners ACT Sally Reynolds St Clare’s College

New South Wales Di Yu Pymble Ladies College

Queensland Kristy O’Brien St Saviour’s College South Australia Caitlin Foxwell Pembroke School Tasmania Jesse Murphy St Patrick’s College

Victoria Erin Ivanka Melbourne Girls’ College

Western Australia Matthew Dean Narrogin Senior High School

Runners-Up ACT Oscar Lopez Canberra Grammar School

New South Wales Alicia Black Penrith High School

Queensland Annie Tong Brisbane Girls’ Grammar School

South Australia Mahesh Umapathysivam Prince Alfred College Tasmania Eleanor Guinn Clarence High School

Victoria Rachel Hall Mercy Regional College Camperdown

Western Australia Adam Goor All Saints College, Bullcreek

Teachers Ms Pam Rowney Wilderness School, South Australia Mr Gerry Kay St Aidan’s Anglican Girls School, Queensland