Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Flinders University rewared for outstanding contributions to student learning.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Press Release


Thursday, 6 July 2006

Congratulations to 18 academic and professional staff at Flinders University who are today being honoured for their outstanding contributions to student learning.

They are among 200 winners across Australia of the 2006 Carrick Institute for Learning and Teaching in Higher Education.

The Carrick Citations recognise and reward teaching excellence in the higher education sector.

These Citations celebrate the significant contribution these individuals are making to student learning.

The 18 Flinders University academic and professional support staff have been acknowledged by their peers for making an enormous difference to the learning experiences of their students.

Each of the awards comes with a $10,000 prize. A presentation ceremony for the South Australian recipients will be held at the National Wine Centre in Adelaide on 10 August.

The Carrick Institute was established in 2004 as a focal point for the enhancement of learning and teaching in Australian universities. It will receive $26 million annually from the Australian Government for competitive grants and awards schemes.

A list of the Flinders University award winners is set out below.

For a full list of winners across Australia, go to

Applications have also been invited for the Carrick Awards for Australian University Teaching. For further details contact Professor Richard Johnstone, Carrick Institute for Learning and Teaching in Higher Education: 02 8667 8500.


• Ms Kerry Bissaker - For excellence in the design and delivery of content-specific post-graduate programs and sustained commitment to teachers' professional learning.

• Professor Iain Hay - For sustained leadership and scholarship dedicated to improving the quality of geography learning and teaching within Australia and internationally.

• Dr Mary Heath - For inclusive, accessible, supportive and inspiring teaching of sexual assault law.

• Professor Julie Holledge, Mr Richard Back, Mr Andrew Bailey, Mr Laurence Jennings, Ms Jennifer White - For the development of research rich undergraduate courses; intercultural programs; and industry linked scheme for students training to be professional actors and directors.

• Mr Hugh Kearns, Ms Maria Gardiner - For a unique team approach applying the latest psychological and educational research to enhance the quality and effectiveness of the PhD learning experience.

• Dr Alison Russell, Dr Ingrid Scholten, Dr Paul McCormack - For inspiring student learning in Speech Pathology through the development and implementation of interactive computer technologies (ICT) and other innovative approaches to teaching.

• Professor Paul Worley, Dr David Rosenthal, Dr Lucie Walters, Ms Pamela Stagg, Ms Heather Brimson - For development and implementation of the community based Parallel Rural Community Curriculum, an internationally recognised, paradigm changing medical education program which strengthens the rural medical workforce.