Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Civil Aviation Safety Authority appointments.

Download PDFDownload PDF

5 June 2001 A78/2001


The Federal Government has appointed Mr Ted Anson AM as the new chairman of the Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA), and has reappointed Mr Mick Toller as the director of aviation safety.

The Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Transport and Regional Services, John Anderson, announced the appointments today.

"Ted Anson is currently the chairman of the Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA), which is CASA's sister organisation. He has vast experience in corporate management and safety, and will be an excellent chairman.

"Mr Anson will replace Dr Paul Scully-Power as the chairman of CASA. Dr Scully-Power has asked not to be reappointed due to his other business commitments, including his appointments to the boards of Austrade and the National Space Advisory Group.

"Dr Scully-Power has led CASA through a period of substantial change. Under his chairmanship, CASA has been transformed from the timid and inwardly-focused organisation that we inherited from the previous government.

"The Government has reappointed the director of aviation safety, Mick Toller, to a second three-year term.

"Australia needs to have an air safety regulator that will take clear-sighted decisions to maintain our excellent air safety record. Over the past three years, Mr Toller has shown that he is prepared to take whatever action is needed to protect the travelling public. He has not been cowed by controversy, nor by the special pleadings of interest groups.

"The Government has asked the incoming CASA chairman, Mr Anson, to consider whether CASA's existing board structure is appropriate for a safety regulator with considerable enforcement powers.

"Mr Anson will report to the Government in 2002 about whether CASA should remain a statutory authority with its own board, or whether it should have new reporting arrangements along the lines of the Australian Federal Police or the Australian Customs Service," Mr Anderson said.

The new appointments take effect from 1 July 2001 and are for three years.

Media contact: Paul Chamberlin 02 6277 7680 / 0419 233 989