Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
National Portrait Gallery Board appointments.

Download PDFDownload PDF


The Minister for Arts and Sport, Senator Rod Kemp, today announced two significant appointments to the National Portrait Gallery (NPG) Board as it approaches a new era of change and expansion.

Senator Kemp said the reappointment of Marilyn Darling as Chair of the NPG and appointment of Lucy Turnbull as a new board member would provide vital guidance and direction to the gallery during their three-year terms.

“Mrs Darling and Ms Turnbull have a wealth of expertise in the cultural, visual arts, legal and commercial sectors and their skills will greatly benefit the gallery at a critical stage in its development,” Senator Kemp said.

“The National Portrait Gallery is entering a period of rapid change and expansion including the construction of a dedicated National Portrait Gallery building in Canberra.

“The gallery’s board has already benefited from Mrs Darling’s knowledge and experience, and she is eminently qualified to continue to serve as its chair.”

Mrs Darling was recently reappointed as a member of the Old Parliament House Governing Council. She is the deputy chair of the Gordon Darling Foundation, Melbourne, a member of the Gordon Darling Australasian Print Fund and a member of the Tate Gallery International Council.

She served as a member of the National Portrait Gallery Advisory Committee from 1993-94 and convening patron of the Uncommon Australians: Towards an Australian Portrait Gallery 1991- 93 exhibition.

Ms Turnbull has practiced as a solicitor and for several years worked as an investment banker. She is a self employed businesswoman and company director. In addition to her extensive business interests, she was a member of the City of Sydney Council, serving as Lord Mayor and Deputy Lord Mayor from 1999-2004 and was recently appointed as administrator of the Tweed Shire Council.

Ms Turnbull has a keen interest in the arts and history, and has extensive board experience. She was a trustee and Deputy President of the Australian Museum 1995-99 and is currently Chair of the Sydney Cancer Centre Foundation, Chair of the Sydney Children’s Hospital Foundation, and board member of the Museum of Contemporary Art since 2001.

The National Portrait Gallery comprises portraits of high-profile Australians and aims to raise awareness of their contributions to the richness and variety of Australian life. The gallery is funded by the Australian Government and is administered by the Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts.

CANBERRA 2 December 2005 Media contact: Michael Christo, 02 6277 7350 or 0409 040276

Page 1 of 2 Minister - National Portrait Gallery Board appointments


Page ID: 34414 Last Modified: 12/06/2005

Page 2 of 2 Minister - National Portrait Gallery Board appointments