Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Cobb congratulates Calare's tidy towns

Download PDFDownload PDF

John Cobb, MP 

Shadow Minister for Agriculture and Food Security  Member for Calare 


Cobb Congratulates Calare’s Tidy Towns

Monday, November 08, 2010

The Federal Member for Calare, John Cobb, today congratulated a number of towns across Calare for their success at the 2011 Keep Australia Beautiful NSW Tidy Towns Sustainable Community Awards Weekend, with a special mention to Lithgow who won the Overall Award in its population category.

“This is a significant achievement for the Lithgow community and I congratulate the Lithgow City Council, Tidy Towns’ committee and community members who were involved in the project,” Mr Cobb said.

“The Central West was certainly a strong performer in this year’s awards program and it is no surprise that so many towns from the Calare electorate won a number of awards across a range of categories.

“It is obvious that these communities are truly proud of where they come from and want to showcase the reasons as to why their town or city is such a great place to live.

“It is fantastic to see so many communities in Calare getting involved in these programs, especially one that celebrates the real, innovative and sustainable efforts of participating rural communities.

“Congratulations to all the towns that entered and I look forward to hearing the results from the National Awards night next year.”


Lithgow will compete against the Overall State Winners from across Australia for the National judging of the 2011 Australian Tidy Town Award in April next year and will also play host to the next year’s NSW Tidy Towns Awards Weekend.

Towns across the Calare electorate who received awards include: • Orange • Lithgow • Rydal • Bathurst • Forbes • Trundle

Media Contact Samantha Neal 02 6361 7138 0438 300 101