Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
Disaster assistance extended to the Clarence Valley and Snowy Monaro following June's east coast storms and floods

Download PDFDownload PDF

The Hon Michael Keenan MP Minister for Justice

Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Counter Terrorism

The Hon

Troy Grant MP NSW Deputy Premier Minister for Justice and Police



25 July 2016


r assistance extended to the Clarence Valley and Snowy Monaro following June’s East Coast Storms and Floods

Minister for Justice Michael Keenan and New South Wales Deputy Premier and Minister for Justice and Police Troy Grant today extended disaster assistance to the Clarence Valley and Snowy Monaro following the devastating east coast storms and floods which occurred in June.

Minister Keenan said assistance is being provided through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA).

“Extending this assistance demonstrates the commitment of the Australian and New South Wales governments to support disaster affected communities,” Mr Keenan said.

NDRRA assistance has now been provided to 43 New South Wales local government areas following this disaster, to ensure affected communities have the support they need to re


Mr Grant said today’s announcement will extend this joint government support to the people of Clarence Valley and the Snowy Monaro.

“The assistance will help affected families and businesses with their ongoing recovery and will also ensure funding is available to help local councils clean-up and restore damaged

infrastructure,” Mr Grant said.

This NDRRA assistance includes:

 He lp for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged, and who meet an assets and income test;

 He lp for councils in the affected local government areas with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets;

 C oncessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and not-for-profit organisations;

 Freight subsidies for primary producers; and

 Grants to not-for-profit organisations.

The local government areas receiving this NDRRA assistance are: Ballina, Bega, Blacktown, Byron, Camden, Campbelltown, Canterbury-Bankstown, Central Coast, City of Sydney, Clarence Valley, Coffs Harbour, Eurobodalla, Fairfield, Hornsby, Inner West, Kempsey, Kiama, Ku-ring-gai, Lane Cove, Lismore, Liverpool, Maitland, Nambucca, Northern Beaches, Parramatta, Penrith, Port Macquarie-Hastings, Port Stephens, Queanbeyan-Palerang, Randwick, Ryde, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Snowy Monaro, Sutherland, The Hills, Tweed, Waverley, Willoughby, Wingecarribee, Wollondilly, Wollongong and Woollahra.

For information on personal hardship and distress assistance, contact the Disaster Welfare Assistance Line on 1800 018 444. To apply for a concessional loan, grant or freight subsidy, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit

Information on this disaster assistance is available at and

Media contacts: Shannen Wilkinson 0476 820 816 (Minister Keenan) T

ess Salmon 0467 740 017 (Deputy Premier Gran t)