Note: Where available, the PDF/Word icon below is provided to view the complete and fully formatted document
General Practice Education and Training Board announced.

Download PDFDownload PDF

Media Release

The Hon Tony Abbott MHR Minister for Health and Ageing

4 August 2004 ABB130/04

General Practice Education and Training Board announced

The membership of the second board of General Practice Education and Training (GPET) was announced today by Federal Minister for Health Tony Abbott.

The nine-member board is chaired by Kate Carnell, who chaired the previous board.

"Ms Carnell showed considerable leadership in guiding the board through GPET's establishment phase. I am pleased that she will continue in this role," Mr Abbott said.

GPET is an Australian Government-owned company responsible for the national management of vocational education and training for general practice. Under its constitution, a majority of board members must be general practitioners and general practitioners in training.

Newly appointed members are:

Dr Philip Hegarty is the nominee of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP). Dr Hegarty is a practising GP and Associate Professor of Health Strategies at Deakin University. He has held several relevant board memberships and is actively involved in community health in Victoria.

Professor Stephen Trumble has been nominated by the Australian Association of Academic General Practice (AAAGP). He is the Director of Education, Department of General Practice, at the University of Melbourne and a co-director of the Joint Universities Centre for Education and Training at the University of Melbourne and Monash University. Professor Trumble has been a general practitioner since 1988 and has a strong record in adult education, including distance education and computer-assisted learning.

Dr Sue Morey AM has been nominated as an independent director. She has a distinguished record in the private and public health sectors, including a period as Chief Health Officer and Executive Director Public Health in the NSW Government. She is currently the director of Morey Australia.

Mr Greg San Miguel is the chief executive officer of Law of the Jungle, a provider of online services for corporate

enterprises. He has also been nominated as an independent director. Mr San Miguel is prominent in legal, compliance, technology and management circles, and will bring a greater breadth of business and corporate governance expertise to the board.

Dr Michael Wong is currently a GP registrar undertaking training in rural Victoria. Dr Wong has been nominated by General Practice Registrars Australia. He is the editor of Australian GP Registrar and deputy chairman of General Practice Registrars Australia.

Directors who have been reappointed to the board for a second term are:

Ms Kate Carnell will continue as chairman and as an independent director. Ms Carnell holds several positions in other organisations, including the National Association of Forest Industries. Ms Carnell was ACT Chief Minister from 1995-2000.

Dr Thomas Doolan is the nominee of the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM), at which he is Honorary Director of Education. Dr Doolan has particular expertise in general practice curriculum development and a strong vision for rural general practice.

Dr Peter Brooks has been nominated by the Committee of Deans of Australian Medical Schools (CDAMS). He is currently Executive Dean of Health Sciences at the University of Queensland. Dr Brooks sits on several boards and councils including Royal Brisbane and Women's Hospital District Council, the Council of Queensland Institute for Medical Research and national and international advisory boards for the pharmaceutical industry.

Dr Valerie Summers has been nominated by the Australian Divisions of General Practice (ADGP). Dr Summers has extensive experience as a general practitioner in rural and urban settings, and has been involved in teaching undergraduate students and GP registrars since 1982.

Media contact: Kate Jordan, 0417 425 227

[Media Releases Index] [Search] [Feedback]

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Security

Published on Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing web site 4 August 2004 Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing URL: